Skip to content

We Write Poems: boxes (notes)

May 12, 2010

Today is the one-year anniversary of this blog. I have been blogging since 2005 (or 2006?), and I have had several blogs. I tend to use one and get tired of it. I am one of those people that throws things away too quickly. The opposite of hoarding. I de-clutter with vigor and usually regret it. But this is my favorite space so far of all the blogs I’ve had. Maybe it will stick. I know it’s not good to delete so much history and leave dead end links along internet trails.

I wrote this afternoon about boxes for the We Write Poems inaugural prompt. I began to investigate items one could find in the glove box of a car and decided to find some metaphors in manuals and maps. What could be more useful than manuals and maps for love? If I really created such a thing, I could be a billionaire and leave this poetry thing behind. πŸ™‚

My draft is here in the post below this one. (Leave me a note if you need the password.) And here’s what everyone else wrote.

9 Comments
  1. May 12, 2010 7:36 pm

    Hi Carolee–Would love to read your poem, so if you have a sec, please send along your password. Also, looking forward to posting to Big Tent Poetry, but after NaPoWriMo, I’m still in recovery mode and haven’t been able to write more than 2 poems (one posted on We Write Poems and one on Writer’s Island). Thx-Robin

    • May 13, 2010 7:19 am

      thanks for asking, robin! i sent it to you via email. and yes: napowrimo was exhausting!!!

  2. May 12, 2010 7:38 pm

    Hey Carolee…Need the password. I’m dying to read your words. It just takes me awhile to jump through hoops.
    Thanks! πŸ™‚ ~Brenda

    • May 13, 2010 7:19 am

      brenda — sent via email. thanks for reading!

  3. May 12, 2010 8:39 pm

    Happy first anniversary. Time for cake! πŸ™‚

    • May 13, 2010 7:20 am

      i like how you think! mmmm. cake. πŸ™‚

  4. May 13, 2010 7:13 am

    Congratulations on this anniversary and the fact that you’ve been blogging for four or five years!

    • May 13, 2010 7:20 am

      thanks, derrick! i’m not one of the old-timers, but as soon as i kill them all off … mwa ha haaaa!

  5. May 13, 2010 12:24 pm

    Congratulations & happy blog(s; -ging) day! <3~

Comments are closed.