Skip to content

Welcome to my world

May 12, 2009

The Important Question used to go something like this: “To be or not to be?”

In recent times, writers and other great thinkers have considered : “To blog or not to blog?”

As a writer who’s blogged for a few years and hosted a few different sites, my question has evolved into this: “To remain in pieces or become a single entity?”

In addition to my poetry blog (i am maureen), I had many websites, most notably: one for my artwork, one for my art studio and one for my expressive arts work. The only one I gave any attention to was the poetry blog. The others languished. I barely thought about them at all, and it became quite a chore when updates became absolutely unavoidable.

And there were problems with the poetry blog, although “problems” is too strong a word. I struggled with what to publish (how personal? I usually went full throttle) and what to protect (I typically used a password for poems to prevent them from being excluded from future publication). But in the mix, even I was confused about how the blog served me.

So here I am. Starting over. If you have been kind enough to link to me from your own blog or website, please update the link to this one: https://caroleesherwood.wordpress.com. This blog pulls all the fragments together: the poetry, the art, the studio and the expressive arts. It will be somewhat more professional (I have lofty goals, you know!) and more grown-up (Notice I am capable of typing in sentence case instead of all lowercase as I did at “i am maureen!”) and, eventually, more public (I’ve been hiding out a bit over there at “i am maureen”). But this new place will still be fun and flirty and all-things Carolee.

I am keeping “i am maureen,” but it will be in the background, a storage place for poem drafts on which I’m seeking feedback. They will be password protected* as they have (mostly) always been. You won’t need to check both sites to keep current with my shenanigans — I’ll announce here (and provide a link) when I have a fresh draft to share.

This may or may not work, but I needed a change. I needed a way to keep the art and the studio in my line of vision along with the poetry. This site is a little chaotic right now, as a matter of fact, having cut and pasted in text from all the other websites. Not all of the material is edited, and not all of it is where it makes the most sense. Not all of it will survive when I start streamlining the content, but it’s here now so I can see it, so that it’s all at my fingertips.

The good news is that you don’t have to poke around any more than you want to. All the action will be taking place right here: in the main column of the home page, just like any blog. You can ignore anything that doesn’t interest you.

Sorry to make work for you (as you update links, get used to a new place to find me and, maybe, suffer while the spam filter gets to know you all over again) but thanks for being patient while I get comfortable here!

///

*”i am maureen” will use the same password it has always used. If you are a blogging poet interested in critiquing/commenting on works in progress, please email “caroleesherwood” at gmail for the password.

10 Comments
  1. May 12, 2009 5:38 pm

    You will be duly noted/changed/followed … no stalking though! Can’t wait to explore. Congratulations on the new digs.

  2. May 12, 2009 8:43 pm

    Please stalk me, Deb. 🙂

  3. May 12, 2009 8:58 pm

    It looks as if you’ve mapped caroleesherwood.com here, too – good move – but there’s a horrible frame from register.com at the bottom. Any way to get rid of that?

  4. May 12, 2009 9:02 pm

    Thanks for coming over, Dave. Yes, I grabbed caroleesherwood.com, too (and it points here). I can get rid of the register.com thing for $49 (on top of what I paid to own the domain name). I’m going to stretch out here and test out the new place before I decide if I like it enough to spring for it.

    At the moment, I’m content if people find me via wordpress. But when I get more fabulous (I will get more fabulous, right? This isn’t as good as it gets, is it?) and want to just use the dot com, it’ll be worth it. 🙂

  5. May 13, 2009 11:17 am

    very cool blog, glad I found it

  6. May 13, 2009 3:07 pm

    Good for you…….I’ve yet to post at hte new place, I’m enjoying being blogless far too much *tee hee hee*.

  7. May 14, 2009 3:23 pm

    I like your new place! Very cool.

  8. May 15, 2009 10:18 pm

    Unlike Deb, I cannot promise not to stalk. I hope we still get to hear some of your life stories somewhere though — I like knowing what’s going on with you! (See, already with the stalkerish thoughts…) 😉 Congrats on the new site; it makes a lot of sense for what you want to do. I am (stalkerishly) excited to see/hear about more of your artwork.

  9. Michelle permalink
    May 16, 2009 3:53 pm

    Hello hello, I’m sorry I’m late to the party!

    What a beautiful header!

    I’m going to explore right now xxx

  10. May 16, 2009 7:55 pm

    Nice site. I hope it helps you stay centered and focused. I like your header, and the way your name runs across it. Blogging and websites are a work in progress, and are always changing. It’s good not to fixate on one particular way of being. So, I support your change! And way to go, you’ve done a lot of work here organizing everything.

Comments are closed.

