Skip to content

Writing the Life Poetic features Dale Favier

May 21, 2009

The current edition of Writing the Life Poetic Zine (you can subscribe here from author/poet Sage Cohen) features an article “Minding Words: Give Up Being a Poet” by Dale Favier. Dale fills his blog Mole with stunning poetry and thoughtful remarks about his life.

When I met Dale, I teased him that he looked like my muse (shortly after I discovered my muse was a man disguised as sea captain): white hair, beard, slightly older than myself, good with a smile and a wink, quick with a spirited nudge. That sort of thing. Although my muse rendition was fiction, the real Dale does actually do good muse work, like inspiring readers with his own brilliant poems, musings and articles.

The one in Writing the Life Poetic, for example, sounds to me like a lecture from a “tell the life poetic like it is” muse who follows up quickly with “why you should, of course, do it anyway.” Make sure you read it! But to get you by until you can read it in its entirety, I will post this:

“Ambitions to write are ordinarily marbled with all kinds of fantasies about what sort of person you’ll be when you succeed at it. You’ll be wise, attractive, free of convention. You’ll be interesting. You’ll get respect, maybe not from the general public, but from a secret coterie of people who live passionately and authentically. Nothing, nothing will kill your writing faster than these fantasies.”

2 Comments
  1. May 21, 2009 11:08 am

    🙂 I am really enjoying Sage’s book and am thrilled you picked up the newsletter. Lots of great stuff, and yeah, Dale’s entire article rocks!

  2. Michelle permalink
    May 21, 2009 3:09 pm

    Congratulations, Dale, and thanks for letting us know, Carolee.

Comments are closed.

