Skip to content

ABC is not easy as 123

July 22, 2009

This week’s assignment was to use the alphabet to guide the lines of a poem between two words. I chose “before” and “Venus.” (I’m not sure where they came from. The air?)

I came up with “Eaten alive: The history of affection” and it’s posted over at “i am maureen” (leave a comment here if you need the password). The poem is one of those that is grateful to the exercise/prompt that yielded it but can’t stay in its current form if it’s to become a successful poem. If I decide to work with it, I won’t force the lines to break at the place that shows off the alphabet, for example.

As promised, I had great fun reading the dictionary, and as a bonus I made some lists of words I hope to use in other pieces.

6 Comments
  1. July 23, 2009 9:56 am

    Hello Carolee,

    I would be grateful to receive a password, if I may?

    Thanks.

  2. July 23, 2009 2:05 pm

    I do need a password for to see your offering this week…

    Thanks,
    mark

  3. wildplumwhisper permalink
    July 23, 2009 2:22 pm

    I had a great time with this dictionary prompt, too! And I’d like to read your poem, but I don’t have the password. 🙂

  4. July 23, 2009 3:54 pm

    welcome! passwords sent via email …

  5. July 23, 2009 4:25 pm

    hello, Carolee!

    I’d love to read your poem, too, if you’d like to send me the password!
    Thank you!

    (the artwork in your header is gorgeous, btw!)

  6. July 23, 2009 4:30 pm

    thanks, angie. the artwork is “accidental.” one of those paintings you get by scraping paint around on the page and playing like a 4-year-old. (this is a cropped section.) when you do this often enough, you get lucky sometimes. 🙂

Comments are closed.

