Skip to content

please make fish lips for me

July 31, 2009
tags:

Please make fish lips for me while you read this post. Trust me on this one. You’re going to want to be puckering when you read the poem. (Tell me in the comments if you did the fish lips or not; you’re fascinating to me as a reader and all, but what I really care about right now is the fish lips.)

I’m participating in the August Poetry Postcard Festival. I have received one postcard so far. I have sent out three (I think I’m a little ahead; I’m writing them as I can — bound to have days where I can’t get to it. I figure they’ll arrive to their recipients in August, so it counts.)

Here’s the first one I sent. It went to Grand Rapids, Michigan.

APF_01

I hope my person likes it. I couldn’t find picture postcards in time to get started. (Well, I have a supply in my art stuff, but they’re all naked women I purchased on e-bay during an obsessive period a couple of summers ago, and I’m not sure they’d be appreciated by all poetry postcard participants.) So I bought blank, pre-stamped cards at the post office. Easy-peasy. I’ve been decorating with one image from a magazine and whatever short lines the image inspires. I’ll post more as the month goes on.

6 Comments
  1. July 31, 2009 11:23 pm

    to clarify: i bought postcards on e-bay, not naked women. online, i tend to get my phrases modifying the wrong things. (is that what i mean to say?)

    anyway, don’t distract me: give me the fish lips!

  2. July 31, 2009 11:53 pm

    Love it! I wish I would have thought of that rather than buy a stack of overpriced cards at this delicious little gift shop in downtown Tacoma. I had to scroll through my postcard list to see if I was in your batch (or vice versa), but there is a huge gap between us. I will be excited to see other cards you post. 🙂 Have fun!

    Oh, and I made the fish lips.

  3. July 31, 2009 11:57 pm

    hi, kimberlee! my sister spells her name the same as you!

    welcome to my blog — and thanks for christening the fish lips post with the only appropriate response. pucker!!!

    if i get more cards, i’ll find you on the list and make one for you sometime!

  4. August 1, 2009 1:18 am

    Of course I puckered. I do what my poetry-pals tell me to do!

    I want one. I am impressed that you are making them yourself. So great to do that. I wanted to, but knew I would have added too much to my wanna list.

    I like the poem, too.

  5. August 1, 2009 1:50 pm

    Very cool……..:) x

  6. August 1, 2009 2:31 pm

    jo, i hope the “x” means you gave me your fish lips!

Comments are closed.

