Skip to content

journal digging #1 for read write poem

August 5, 2009

Jill and I launched a Poetry Mini-Challenge. The assignment is to rifle through your journals and write a poem a day for three days based on the theme of digging. The title of your piece should be a synonym for digging (unearthing, finding, etc.).

My series is (so far, you know, of course, it’s just a draft) called “Forage,” and here are what I think will be its three pieces:

1. to wander, looking for provisions
2. to conduct a search
3. to obtain by foraging

The first one “to wander, looking for provisions” is posted at “i am maureen” (there may be some new people finding this via Read Write Poem; if you need the password for “i am maureen,” leave a comment here).

To write part 1, I used journal notes about the following: bad eating habits, some kind words someone said to me and the wish that I could give kindness to myself and a lament about the inadvisability of tallying up the good and bad in life.

A note: If the piece gets beyond draft form, pick a dictionary and use actual quotes of definitions? (If yes, remember cite the source. Right now, these come mostly from thefreedictionary.com.)

7 Comments
  1. August 6, 2009 4:35 pm

    Is there a purpose behind linking blog to blog to blog in this manner?
    _Barbara

  2. August 6, 2009 4:40 pm

    yes. there’s a purpose.

    the short version is that i don’t publish drafts of my poems publicly. i workshop them privately at the other site. here, i talk about writing.

    (happy to email you the password if you like.)

  3. August 6, 2009 5:04 pm

    it’s not ideal for readers, but it’s what works for me.

  4. August 6, 2009 6:53 pm

    Password?

  5. August 6, 2009 6:56 pm

    SB — I sent you an email.

  6. August 6, 2009 11:43 pm

    It’s a great prompt/challenge. I am interested in how you protect your work, I think you have found a good way to balance on the fine wire.

Trackbacks

  1. journal digging #1 « i am maureen

Comments are closed.

