Skip to content

august poetry postcard #9

August 29, 2009
tags:

Another postcard for the August Poetry Postcard Festival. Destination: East Providence, Rhode Island.

It’s late. It was supposed to go out on or before the 9th day of the month. But I took the week before my beach vacation off and I took the week of my beach vacation off. So I am spending this week catching up (it’s not as bad as it looks; these go out days before I post them, but it’s still pretty bad how far behind I was).

Wouldn’t you know the first one back gave me a run for my money? I decided I’d try to bump one word into the next by using the end sound of the first word to the beginning sound of the next word and try to go on and on like that. Then I decided I needed to have a logical way to “end” it, some place for the poem to go, a goal that would make sense. Then I decided that most of the words sandwiched in between the start word and the goal word should have a little something to do with the “theme.”

The image on the card is a mascara applicator. I wanted to travel from “mascara” to “promiscuity.” I didn’t succeed but I got close (text follows the image).

APF_09

///

See how desperate I got there in the end? I realized I couldn’t get it to “promiscuity.” I even struggled to get it to something close: “ho.”

One Comment
  1. August 29, 2009 11:39 am

    I love it!

    I have mascara poems somewhere. And lipstick/gloss ones, too! Let’s do a mini-chap on a make-up/made-up theme!

Comments are closed.

