Skip to content

september poetry challenge, eavesdropping #3

September 9, 2009

I’m still behind on the poetry mini-challenge about eavesdropping Jill and I hosted. Nine people have finished, and I’m determined to join them!

This one is a poem assembled from notes I’d been taking for a few days from these sources: conversations I had about real life and about entertainment news plus stories I heard on the television in the background while I worked. I’ve been lamenting the fact that I haven’t been listening enough, that I haven’t been trusting the material to take me on a journey, giving up on things before I give them a chance. This kind of thinking is so contrary to the philosophy of the challenge!

But I’m not a lost cause. In looking at the notes today, I noticed some grim themes running through many of them (bones, for one). I deleted what didn’t fit, changed the order of the notes and played with wording and line breaks. The resulting draft is posted at “i am maureen” (leave a note here if you need the password).

Comments are closed.

