Skip to content

surrounded by women poets

September 11, 2009

What a wonderful poetry day! Not only am I plotting with Jill to be more accountable in my poetry practice (studying, writing, attending events, etc.) but also I met with the spectacular (talented, supportive, enthusiastic) Beach Writers group. I’m so thrilled to be part of the group, and I leave every meeting feeling as though I’ve been given a gift. We network, write from prompts, read drafts conceived in the moment and share poems/essays we’re polishing outside the group. We offer guidance about craft and applaud members’ efforts and successes.

While I was there, Jill (who is a member also, but was unable to attend) made mischief and designed our next poetry gong (what we call the craziness that is writing a poem-a-day here and there when we feel like we need it). It starts today and goes through September 30. It has a “beneath the dust bunnies” theme, and we’ll be poking around albums and journals and cupboards for potential poems.

Thank goodness I’d started one at Beach Writers. Phew! A draft is posted at “i am maureen” (leave a note with this post if you’re new around here and need the password). It took inspiration from a dream I had recently, a ritual with my son, a cat I saw near the store, objects around me in the room and prompts presented as inspiration. Too much, probably, but each thing lead me to the next. I’m afraid I mucked it up as I typed; the free write I’d plunked down long-hand seemed much more … fragile (in a good way)? tentative? precise? Hmm. It happens. I’ll have to compare them when it’s time to revise.

Jill’s first poem is here.

4 Comments
  1. djvorreyer permalink
    September 11, 2009 8:35 pm

    You guys wear me out! It’s hard enough for me to do the weekly prompt when I am teaching all day – best of luck to you in this mini-challenge – it has reminded to go journal diving into some old notebooks for possible material.

  2. September 12, 2009 8:21 am

    Your energy and enthusiasm is inspiring! I’ll come by your Maureen blog later when I have more time. It’s so good to have a group that keeps you motivated and creative.

    Girl Power! (Yes, I said it.)

Trackbacks

  1. hiatus (remainder of september) « carolee sherwood
  2. dust bunny #2 « i am maureen

Comments are closed.

