Skip to content

the final poem(s) for the challenge

October 14, 2009

Poem #6 for the October Poetry Mini-challenge at Read Write Poem was “due” on Sunday. Jill and I got together to drink coffee and molest the pretty, pretty bargain books (she found one on pulp fiction and I found one on pin-up girls). We also managed to write some.

Our first attempt was to write a letter poem to someone (I chose my “dearly departed husband,” who is, at present, very much alive, but this is poetry, and it goes where it likes). I combined that with an idea — to build a husband like Dr. Frankenstein built his monster — that fell on my head while I was driving to meet her.

What I ended up with was a free write that I brought home and combined with quotes from Mary Shelley’s novel. I used the quotes as section breaks, expanded on the free write and puttered away at it off and on Monday and Tuesday.

I was stuck on the last stanza, however. I had selected the Shelley quote already, but I couldn’t figure out a premise on which to hang it and wrap up the piece. So I went for a run at noontime today. I needed gloves and a vest for the first time this season. It’s brisk out there! I went just three miles, but it worked! I sorted it out on the run, came home and wrote it down.

The whole things has some kinks to work out and some language that could be stronger, but I’ll work on that after I sit with this for a while. I’ve been writing at a slower pace, lately, but some of it feels really heavy. I think that’s why.

OK. Enough rambling. The poem’s at “i am maureen” (leave a comment here if you need the password).

3 Comments
  1. October 14, 2009 3:29 pm

    I so admire your dedication to a poem. From your description, and from the beginning I was witness to, this poem is a work of art. A labour of {love}, so to speak. Can’t wait to read it.

  2. October 14, 2009 3:35 pm

    there’s a fine line between dedication and obsession. 🙂

    i know you liked the beginnings of it on sunday (free write), so you’ll have to let me know if i managed to keep it going.

    • October 14, 2009 3:46 pm

      i just left you a comment on maureen. and more to come in email! 🙂 did you know i learned how to make this face?

Comments are closed.

