Skip to content

bare chests

October 27, 2009

I’m terrible at paying attention to the small details of my life. It’s a liability as a mother and a poet, but one of the things I know for sure is that being surrounded by bare-chested boys is so delightful. It is one of the gifts I’ve been given. (It’s not exactly the season for bare chests in the Northeast, but at our house, we know skin is easier to clean than clothes. We’re not exactly careful when we splash our pumpkin guts around.)

pumpkin carving

pumpkin carving_davin

pumpkin seeds

6 Comments
  1. Hannah permalink
    October 27, 2009 4:00 pm

    Love it! Just children in general are such a precious gift! We really do need to count our blessings we are so lucky to have 3 each beautiful healthy children! Great pics! đŸ™‚

  2. October 27, 2009 4:00 pm

    Terrific photos! You have a handsome household! Thanks for sharing.

  3. October 27, 2009 6:19 pm

    It reminds me of Lord of the Flies–with one token grown-up! Could that be the mysterious D.?

  4. October 27, 2009 9:19 pm

    yes, virginia, there is a santa claus.

    (translation: yes, jill, there is a husband. despite the longevity of our friendship, jill has never seen him. hence the mystery. sorry to spoil it!)

  5. October 28, 2009 11:52 am

    Love the pics, and the shirtless tradition!

    Sometimes it feels like I spend so much of my energies scrabbling for time to myself that I am in danger of missing out on the small prosaic miracles of my boys. Fortunately they’re always there to snap me out of it, an endless tug-of-war…

  6. October 29, 2009 9:34 pm

    Wonderful thoughts, wonderful images. (You do hold them inside.)

Comments are closed.

