Skip to content

priorities: a poem before the coffee and cleaning

November 21, 2009
tags:

Even though I’m still mad at my muse, we’re back on speaking terms. And so we negotiated that today — even though there’s lots to do with the kids and the housework (why do I let it accumulate so?) — I would stick with the self-imposed poem-a-day challenge. We decided together that I would write a poem this morning (yes, 11 a.m. is morning for me. I was awake last night until 3 a.m.) before I did anything else* so that it wouldn’t be chattering in my ear all day long.

What’s that? The muse chattering in my ear about poems? Nope. Can’t be. Too early in the challenge for that. It must have been something else.

Anyway! Poem #3 is up at “i am maureen.” Leave password requests in the comments section here!

*Exception: I did feed the children first, but I promise it wasn’t out of any sort of maternal instinct. Instead, it was a strategic move: avoiding the interruptions that begin with, “I’m hungry.”

7 Comments
  1. November 22, 2009 11:35 am

    If you had a friend and she wasn’t writing and if your friend said she was going to write a poem a day, too, and if your friend didn’t write a poem a day, what would you do?

  2. November 22, 2009 11:57 am

    the writing buddy manual is very clear on this matter:

    you begin with the kind approach: take her out for coffee or meet her for sushi (which she hasn’t had in a really long time and which is a tradition that must be reinstated). you insist that you write two poems via two prompts before the gossiping can begin.

    if that doesn’t work, you use a scare tactic like this one: dude. you’re going to NYC in two weeks for a workshop with denise duhamel. you don’t want to be rusty and clogged up before you go, do you? what if you get there and you haven’t been writing and you can’t.

  3. November 22, 2009 12:02 pm

    oh. i see. well. if you ever have a friend like the above mentioned friend, i guess that’s what you’d have to do then. thanks for clearing that up!

  4. November 22, 2009 12:02 pm

    sushiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

  5. November 22, 2009 12:07 pm

    i might have said, take the path of kindness: remind her that she’s a fabulous writer and the poems will come.

    but i think you’re going to have to go in and dig them out. grab them by their perfect little hair-do’s and drag them out. probably they were up late cavorting with boys, anyway. it would do them good to get up and out and put to noble work.

  6. November 22, 2009 12:19 pm

    were there boys to cavort with, the little beauties would have cavorted. they are elusive, these poem-girls…

  7. November 22, 2009 12:57 pm

    The one reason why I don’t always wear my glasses is so I don’t notice the dust or the weird things lurking in the corners of the rooms. I’m glad you wrote the poems. You do a lot, way more than most people. And your art comes first. You make the world a better place by creating it. I mean it!

Comments are closed.

