Skip to content

a successful 48 hours

November 27, 2009
tags: ,

I am well-fed (wined AND dined) from Thanksgiving, and I accomplished what I wanted to accomplish in the 48 hours my men gave me a quiet house. I finished editing this version of the manuscript ahead of postmark deadlines, and I sent it to three presses I’d been looking forward to reaching.

I hope to resume daily writing on Sunday. Today, I am treating myself to some exercise and trash TV ahead of the boys’ return this evening, and tomorrow, bright and early, I will be traveling to Worcester for all-day Zumba training.

It’s going to kick my ass, I’m quite sure, and I’m having pre-performance jitters. I’m worried it’s going to be like high school, and I’m going to be the fat chick in gym class who can’t climb the rope. It’s been severe enough that I’ve thought about retreating entirely from this idea of teaching, but I know I doubt myself too much. I’m going to go with the flow of what I’ve already set in motion and trust that the confidence that made me think I could do it will find me tomorrow once I get there.

I’ll survive it. Whatever it ends up being like. It can’t be any more terrible than having groups of your poems out there to be judged. Certainly that should be more frightening!

If I look back, I’ve done lots of things I thought I’d never be able to do, and the first time is always the most daunting: showing up at the start line of a road race, hanging paintings in public, reading poems at an open mic. It’s exhilarating and rewarding to take on Things That Are A Big Deal To You. I don’t think I’ve ever been sorry.

That concludes my pep talk. Come back some day soon. The poetry will resume.

4 Comments
  1. November 27, 2009 9:41 pm

    Way to go on the manuscript. Where all are you sending it, and how did you decide on those presses?

  2. November 27, 2009 10:17 pm

    Dude!!!

    (You’re an effing inspiration, AND, foremost & firstly, a creative woman with a lot to give the world. I get to read your words. Lucky, lucky me. I just wish I could see your paintings and get *my* butt kicked in *your* zumba class, for reals.)

  3. November 28, 2009 4:23 pm

    🙂 wot she said!

  4. November 29, 2009 11:57 am

    as someone once said, “what doesn’t kill me makes me horny.” Go for it.

Comments are closed.

