Skip to content

well, that was interesting

December 18, 2009

Wow. It’s been so long since I posted a poem that I just experienced anxiety over sharing a draft. (It’s at “i am maureen.“)

I never worry about the condition of my drafts. Maybe it’s the day (two batches of poems rejected by two journals). Maybe it’s the cold making me nervous. (it’s freezing here right now, and when the house won’t hold the heat, it dredges up stuff for me. I’m not sure why.) Maybe it’s the time of year. (Christmas in a week? Are you kidding me? ) (AND, though, thank heavens it’s almost over!)

Maybe I’m just out of practice. I haven’t been doing much poeming.

I guess I’ve still been doing writerly things, though. I have been planning a holiday reading with Jill. (And, of course, used it as an excuse to buy a new green sweater. What kind of redhead would I be if I failed to grab up a pretty green $10 sweater?) (And winter white puffy vest to go over it.) I have been reading and writing reviews. I have been editing my manuscript and getting it back out into the world. I have been reading submissions for Ouroboros Review. I have been plotting publishing endeavors with my partner-in-crime and congratulating poetry pals (January’s book is out! Dana was on The Joe Milford Poetry Show!)

And I have been submitting poems to journals like a crazy fool. In fact (if you follow me on Facebook you already know this), I sent the two batches of rejected poems right back out the door to other journals. I believe in the poems, and I am determined to find them a place to live.

2 Comments
  1. December 20, 2009 2:52 am

    Thanks for the heads-up about January’s book.

  2. December 20, 2009 8:02 am

    Even if you’re not writing, you’re moving forward with your art. Good for you. It’s tough to focus, especially during the holidays.

Comments are closed.

