Skip to content

another poem. for real-ish.

January 26, 2010

Yesterday, a draft (posted here at “i am maureen“). Today, a draft (link below). Two in a row.

I started today’s piece on the plane on the way home from Portland, Oregon, after my recent vacation. I am in the early chapters of Steve Kowit’s In the Palm of Your Hand: The Poet’s Portable Workshop. It is my unofficial official New Year’s Resolution (I don’t believe in resolutions) to complete the exercises in the book — cover to cover, of course. And then, do the same with Sage Cohen‘s Writing the Life Poetic. (Don’t tell anyone about the resolutions, which, I must remind you, I don’t believe in.)

Anyway, the poem I posted today is a stab at the Poem #2 assignment from Kowit’s book. Mimic the structure of Antonio Machado’s “Memory from Childhood,” a poem in five stanzas, in which the 1st and 5th stanzas are the same. Talk about a different scene in each stanza. Use detail. I did those things and posted the draft (which I tweaked while I typed it, but otherwise is the draft from the plane. It’s here at “i am maureen.”

3 Comments
  1. January 26, 2010 11:22 pm

    In the Palm of Your Hand changed my life. I was in my mid-twenties when I read it, and his chapters on revision really helped me articulate something I’d been doing in the dark by instinct alone. I can’t recommend it highly enough!

    And welcome back from your vacation, Carolee!

  2. January 27, 2010 12:24 pm

    Oh yay! Marie, I just told Carolee a few days ago, I have had Kowit’s book for years, but never really looked at it (weird, I know, I’m a self-confessed book hoarder!). The book that changed my life in my 20s was The Artist’s Way. I so so so need a book to change my life in my 30s (and only months to go before that decade is blown…yikes). Will crack the spine of Kowit’s book TODAY! Pinky swear!

  3. January 27, 2010 12:27 pm

    yeah, old lady, you better hurry! 🙂

Comments are closed.

