Skip to content

something i don’t usually do

January 27, 2010

If you’re on Facebook, you may have seen this photo. While I was in Portland, Oregon, earlier this month, Deb invited Dale and me to her house for dinner and wine. We chatted about poetry and family and friendship, and it was lovely, lovely, lovely.

On the plane on the way home, I made some quick notes about the evening, and I just spent some time trying to turn those notes into a poem. It’s a poem, alright (you know, line breaks and a metaphor or two), but it lacks my usual edge. Even worse than that, it’s quite sappy (something I don’t usually do). But you know what? It was that kind of night. The trip was that kind of trip. It was a dreamy escape from the frozen white Northeast and all its associations. And yet, there was time for introspection.

If you still dare, I invite you to read it here at “i am maureen.” Deb and Dale, I don’t know what kind of gift it is to send you a mediocre poem, but it’s sent with affection!

3 Comments
  1. January 27, 2010 2:23 pm

    i fantasize about being a bi-coastal poet. i now have poems about both coasts. does that count? i’m willing to experiment by spending more time out west!

  2. January 27, 2010 5:08 pm

    Pfft. You don’t know how to write mediocre poems, Ms Carolee. (Okay, now I go read!)

  3. January 27, 2010 9:41 pm

    of course i do, silly. we all do.

Comments are closed.

