Skip to content

is it a habit yet?

January 29, 2010
tags: ,

I don’t remember how long it takes to make a habit. I’m five days into writing a poem-a-day (today’s offering is here at “i am maureen,” an extended, stretched and tortured metaphor about a tailor). I do know five days is not a habit. (Isn’t it something like three weeks?) I do know that I have missed the regular poem-ing though, and while I don’t have my groove back yet, I finally feel like giving it a good effort.

I also finally figured out some of the reason behind the drought. I had attributed it all to creative failures. However, I realized while driving earlier this week (my brain makes sense when I am driving in the car; road trip, anyone?) that I began to spend less time writing late this fall exactly around the time I began teaching Zumba (getting certified, learning choreography, traveling around for classes, etc.).

My regular writing routine depended on a loosey-goosey schedule. I wrote anytime during the day I felt like it (and could bribe the children into cooperating with “quiet time”). But once I started teaching Zumba, large chunks of my time ceased to belong to my amorphous writing and reading addiction.

I love Zumba. I love teaching Zumba. It makes me happy. Reliably. It’s rare to have something like that. It’s movement, movement, movement, and it’s wild, wild, wild. And at times, it’s sexy, sexy, sexy. Most often, it’s goofy, goofy, goofy. I never take myself seriously in it.

Do you see how it’s the perfect balance with poetry? It’s an odd and glorious combination. I need both.

And now that I know my poetry drought was, most likely, an issue of time management and not loss of mojo, I feel hopeful.

One Comment
  1. January 29, 2010 8:11 pm

    Yeah. A road trip!

    I think you are spot on about the causality.

Comments are closed.

