Skip to content

RWP mini-challenge currently in progress

February 4, 2010

The Read Write Poem February Mini-challenge is here.

The first poem we compose for the challenge is supposed to be a cento (patchwork poem), which creates a new poem from another poet’s lines. There are rules, though! Some of them are mentioned in the mini-challenge link above. My attempt is posted here at “i am maureen.” Go to the forum to see what others are doing! (UPDATE: My second cento for the challenge is posted here, and you can find other poets’ work, as well, in the second forum.)

For the purposes of the challenge, we are supposed to profess our love for the work of a single poet. The poet I’m in love with at the moment is Rebecca Schumejda, and it’s not just because one of her books glows in the dark (I don’t have that one yet). By now, she must think I’m stalking her because I think I’ve tried to talk with her every day since we met, including yesterday in which I asked her permission to use her lines.

She did a reading in Albany at the Fuze Box a few days ago. She was a terrific reader, and her poems are phenomenal. Her poetic voice is mature and alluring and intriguing and insightful. And she’s genuine. She doesn’t try to shine things up. I love honest poetry.

OK. Gushing is done. Go see the first cento at the “maureen” link in the text above!

3 Comments
  1. February 5, 2010 11:40 am

    I think I see your blushing giddyness all the way over here. I need to get the password to read your cento. I need to read your words!

  2. February 5, 2010 7:34 pm

    I need you password too!

  3. February 6, 2010 11:19 pm

    I’m glad you moved centos to my periphery.

Comments are closed.

