Skip to content

napowrimo eve: a letter to santa

March 31, 2010

Even though I knew the announcement was coming, it still makes me sad. Jill and I are old-timers over there. We have been with it (and through it) since the beginning. It’s been an incredible experience: the ups and the downs. (UPDATE: Deb has posted her announcement at Stoney Moss.)

I realized that today I am sad for those people just starting out with the site, those just finding their feet in their poetry practice. But I also realized that I am in a very different place with my writing than I was three years ago. What I need today is different than what I needed then, and this could be the precise kick-in-the-pants I need to force my writing habits to evolve.

So that’s part of today: some sadness, but mostly, a sense of peace and an opening for what comes next.

Today, I am attempting some submissions and handling some business around the house in preparation for the much-anticipated commencement of NaPoWriMo. I’m thrilled that Read Write Poem will live long enough for the community to benefit from the 30 prompts sent in by members, and I’m excited to be seeking additional inspiration from Robert Lee Brewer’s Poetic Asides. I will be posting most poems without passwords this month, but they will come down once the month is over.

This month also marks the first meeting of a new, IRL writing group that I couldn’t be more excited about. And it’s supposed to warm up and be sunny sometime soon here in the Northeast. I am brimming with optimism. So much so that I am going to sign up (at high noon) to compete later this month for the prestigious title: Poet Laureate of Smitty’s Tavern. Sounds like a hoot.

Dear Santa: Fill my stocking with poems. All shapes and sizes and price ranges. Do not be stingy. No need to check the naughty list twice. I am not on it. No, I am not crossing my fingers as I write this. Pay particular attention to the fancy cookies I left for you on the table with the carrots for the reindeer. Certainly someone with this level of generosity is on the nice list. Certainly.

4 Comments
  1. March 31, 2010 9:58 am

    That’s the spirit!

    And yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Clause.

    Have fun with that “Poet Laureate of Smitty’s Tavern” thang! Cool, and a new IRL group! It’s all good.

  2. March 31, 2010 10:50 am

    Very bittersweet. I’m still hoping things change with RWP.

    Yes, fill our stockings with poems in April!

  3. March 31, 2010 1:42 pm

    Deb — the spirit is in me!!! returned the # of submissions i have circulating in the world to the threshold i like to maintain, too! gotta have them out there working for me while i write some new ones this month.

    January — of course things could change at RWP. what’s exciting for me, i think, is how it’s helping me to ask what i need now. it’s something we all should consider from time to time, and i get lazy about it.

  4. March 31, 2010 9:47 pm

    hi ladies! so cool to see you three here, having a conversation. my old poetry buddies! old, as in, we’ve been together a good long time. not like WE are old!

    carolee, your new-found enthusiasm is wonderful. rock on, sistah!

Comments are closed.

