Skip to content

napowrimo #4

April 4, 2010

I spent most of the morning and midday doing Easter stuff with the kids, though I did peek online at email and at the prompt choices for today. The RWP prompt was “bring the outside in (or take the inside out),” and the Poetic Asides prompt was “write a history poem.” I tried for 10 or 15 minutes (it’s NaPoWriMo, patience is not required), but I didn’t have a response to either prompt.

Before I knew it, the day was upon me again. Several games of Monopoly. A game of Scrabble. A big, fat Easter meal. The family stuff you’re supposed to do on holidays. I had a good day, but I failed to claim quiet time to write. My family would have given it to me, but I struggled with guilt and tried to write at the computer with everyone buzzing around. I failed.

The kids are in bed now, and I have turned to Kelli’s prompts. I have printed Kelli’s list for use in the future, and during April, I will use her prompts (in reverse order — no skipping around!) as my “phone-a-friend” prompts, for those times when I can’t seem to navigate the other two prompts.

Since today was the first day I “phoned a friend,” I turned to Prompt #30 — “Write a poem where your first, middle or last name features prominently.” I got lucky because my middle name is Dawn. And I instantly thought, “persona poem.” And on a day when I thought I’d end up with nothing, I ended up with something. NaPoWriMo, I love you.

..DRAFT /

REMOVED BY THE AUTHOR FOR REVISION.

///

UPDATE: I’m going to add a tally at the end of the posts so that I can keep track of the prompts I’ve used so far. It may come into play later in the month. Here it is: 4 = 1 RWP +  2 PAD + 1 Book of Kells

8 Comments
  1. April 4, 2010 9:15 pm

    nicely done, friend! particulary like the last stanza/lines! And, of course, “the sort of obscurity no woman enjoys.”

    • April 4, 2010 9:27 pm

      i’m glad you like that part. i had made a note at the bottom of the screen about “between nothing and obscurity” but as i wrote, i couldn’t figure out where to fit it in. as a last impulse, i tucked them in parentheses and stretched ’em out a bit. 🙂

  2. April 4, 2010 9:24 pm

    POETRY PROMPT

    I wake up in the morning
    turn and put my feet on the floor
    The day has begun
    I could wander in the woods
    forever like Lew Welch, or
    walk downtown for a cappuccino
    watch the day unfold
    the sidewalk littered with prompts
    like the lost leaves of Autumn

    • April 4, 2010 9:29 pm

      thanks for reading, dan. i had to look up lew welch, but i’m glad i did. i find stories of people who are never found extremely interesting!

  3. April 4, 2010 9:24 pm

    Yea Carolee, definitely “something” I’d say. Like an arrow right to the heart! Just that precise.

    “But I aim to be so brilliant/he can’t help but think about me/and seek me out again/and again.” How oft I know that thought, but shy to admit right out loud! Now there’s a fine thing for a poem to do!

    • April 4, 2010 9:30 pm

      beware: i admit things right out loud. 🙂

      and thanks, neil, i’m glad you think it’s something.

  4. April 4, 2010 10:47 pm

    This is brilliant, Carolee. Loved this line – ‘universe offers me no forgiveness for imbalance’ , this takes the thread from the first line ‘the pressure on me is tremendous’. The best of all is the closure –
    ‘I know I can’t keep him.
    My flimsy claim only a slender line between
    his asleep and his awake. ‘

  5. April 5, 2010 12:26 pm

    Oh. Oh. Oh.

Comments are closed.

