Skip to content

napowrimo #5

April 5, 2010

With this draft — #5 — I believe I will be 1/6th of the way through NaPoWriMo, and I have to say that I had forgotten how hard it is. I did 30 in 2008, but that is a distant memory; and last year, I was just happy to have spread 15 over the month. So, it’s sort of like I am experiencing it again for the first time. Ha!

Today, I am attempting* the Read Write Poem prompt, which is to write a poem about your relationship to poetry (Mark Stratton says it so much better than that; be sure to go read the prompt). For the purposes of the prompt, I have given my relationship to poetry (personified here, I guess, as a muse of sorts) the name “Bernadette,” who is the alter-ego I plan to assume when I high-tail it out of Dodge some day. Or never. But whatever …

..DRAFT /

REMOVED BY THE AUTHOR FOR REVISION.

///

Sadly, I have never been to Mardi Gras. Bernadette may have been to Mardi Gras, but she’s not answering questions about the degrees of truth or fiction in this piece. Tally: 5 = 2 RWP + 2 PAD + 1 Book of Kells.

*Technically, this is a hybrid with the Poetic Asides prompt, “TMI: too much information.”

19 Comments
  1. April 5, 2010 6:43 pm

    Carolee,
    I love your character here! She is racy, hot, fun! Great work!
    Pamela

    • April 5, 2010 7:06 pm

      hi, pamela! bernadette is no character! she’s my … oh, well, never mind. πŸ™‚ i’m not permitted to divulge anything further. πŸ™‚

  2. April 5, 2010 6:47 pm

    Fantabulous. Sounds like you need a NOLA field trip. I know I do.

  3. April 5, 2010 6:53 pm

    You had me from the first line! Seriously though…Thanks, Carolee for images sweet as colored sugar, and ideas that insist on lifting their shirts. I’m inspired. (My latest is up at ww.gregoconnell.com)

    • April 5, 2010 7:07 pm

      yes, i suppose a line about perky breasts does get attention. here’s a question for you: what color are bernadette’s eyes?

      πŸ™‚

      i like how you’ve said “ideas that insist on lifting their shirts.” yes, bernadette is that sort of idea/muse. thanks for mirroring it back to me like that. very nice!

  4. April 5, 2010 7:07 pm

    An instant favorite. My poetry ego feels so tame by comparison!

    • April 6, 2010 8:14 am

      terri — i think your poetry ego must have stories he/she just hasn’t told you about yet. πŸ™‚

  5. April 5, 2010 9:31 pm

    You know how to let the horses out of the barn, that is for sure!

    (Yes. This is hard work! You’re doing great!))

    • April 6, 2010 8:15 am

      horses? is that what they call breasts out there in the wild west? what a place, that oregon!

  6. April 6, 2010 12:07 am

    Loved your muse, it’s OK she being/doing just about anything as long as she has those sparkling poems around her neck

    • April 6, 2010 8:15 am

      agreed, uma. anything in the name of poetry!

  7. April 6, 2010 12:11 am

    Woo! Bernadette is one powerful lady!

    • April 6, 2010 8:16 am

      i’m still getting to know bernadette (she’s one of my latest obsessions). i wonder if she is powerful. i’ll have to explore that. i do think all women have power, of course.

  8. April 6, 2010 12:22 am

    I love this! Bernadette is fun, but thinking of Bernadette as poetry is more fun. I want fun poetry and a muse who will take her shirt off.

    (Didn’t you say once your muse was a man? Do you have more than one? Send one my way pleeeeeeease!)

    And you are making this napowrimo thing look easy…

  9. April 6, 2010 8:25 am

    yes, my muse is a man. the sea captain-looking fellow. and i did use the word “muse” in the post, but i would say in this piece, bernadette is more the writer of the poems than the muse. and her actions here describe her relationship with poetry: one way she gets the inspiration and the poems.

    sadly, both bernadette and the sea captain disappear from me sometimes. i suspect they are together.

    you, too, can have your own staff of muses. πŸ™‚

  10. April 6, 2010 9:22 pm

    Is it still a good poem if I have to go take a cold shower after reading it? (“Poems around her neck” — oh yes.)

    • April 6, 2010 10:28 pm

      a poem gets bonus points if anyone has to take a cold shower after reading it.

  11. April 6, 2010 11:17 pm

    This is fun. I love the TMI prompt from Robert. After writing this poem, you deserve a Mardi Gras road trip for sure!

Comments are closed.

