Skip to content

napowrimo 9.2

April 9, 2010

A second poem for NaPoWriMo Day 9 because as much as I liked the first prompt I chose, I also liked the Poetic Asides prompt — “write a self portrait poem.”

In order to make it a less self-conscious process (for me, self portrait could easily turn into “Dear Diary” or “girl in the mirror”), I chose ten words from my word salad bowl. Yes, I am one of those people who has words in a bowl on my coffee table. Here are the words I selected today: animal, rhythm, tree, growl, clean, web, morning, daughter, pierce and surround. I only managed to get eight into the poem.

..DRAFT /

REMOVED BY THE AUTHOR FOR REVISION.

///

Tally: 11* = 5.5 RWP + 4.5 PAD + 1 Book of Kells.

*Target is now 32.

12 Comments
  1. April 9, 2010 4:06 pm

    Very beautiful, touching, lovely. So much family here.

    • April 9, 2010 8:05 pm

      thanks, marie! something that’s interesting is that i don’t write much about my kids. then, i set out to write a self portrait poem, and there they are. i guess it’s too early to quit therapy. more. to. learn. 🙂

  2. April 9, 2010 4:10 pm

    You are on such an April roll, Ms Carolee. Just amazing.

    • April 9, 2010 8:06 pm

      Mr. Dale, a roll is it? well, it sure as hell beats the nada-zip-zero-zilch of february and march.

      and thank you. 🙂

  3. April 9, 2010 4:51 pm

    nice. dragon boy?
    I like the way you drift away and back.

    • April 9, 2010 8:07 pm

      yes, i have a dragon boy. he draws them by the dozens. and he has a ferocious roar. scrawny little thing, though — maybe he’ll grow into it.

  4. Irene permalink
    April 9, 2010 7:40 pm

    I think this is a winner.

  5. April 9, 2010 8:08 pm

    thanks, irene! it’s among my favorite 3 so far. 🙂

  6. April 9, 2010 10:19 pm

    Brilliant! Love it, Carolee! Mine is a contemporary Petracrchan sonnet to the rural cypress (Macrocarpa) here in New Zealand. Don’t miss this one!! “Little Song…” at http://www.gregoconnell.com

  7. April 9, 2010 10:26 pm

    Today I stuck with the RWP prompt, though the self portrait prompt tempted me. Perhaps tomorrow….

    (Once I made a self portrait assemblage and it turned into an abstract living sculpture with my three children VERY prominently featured.)

  8. April 9, 2010 11:52 pm

    another wonderful poem Carolee

  9. April 10, 2010 4:25 am

    Delightful – so acute a picture of the ties that bind. A keeper!

Comments are closed.

