Skip to content

napowrimo #10

April 10, 2010

Today’s poem went in a totally different direction than I thought it would. Sometimes it’s terrible when that happens; sometimes it’s wonderful. Today, I’m pleased I wasn’t too stubborn to listen. With some tinkering, I may have a keeper!

This is NaPoWriMo Day 10, and I have blended the prompts from the two sites I’m following closest. It’s a celebration poem (from Read Write Poem), and it’s a horror poem (from Poetic Asides).

After having abandoned poetry once I graduated from college, I returned to it in the winter of 2004. Shortly thereafter, I met Jill, and we have been up to no good ever since. The haters out there get tired of us pal-ing around so much, but she gets me through stuff. And she’s an inspiration. One of the most talented poets I know.

..DRAFT /

REMOVED BY THE AUTHOR FOR REVISION.

///

Tally: 12* = 6 RWP + 5 PAD + 1 Book of Kells.

*Target is now 32.

12 Comments
  1. April 10, 2010 1:18 pm

    Oh My! Sapho, Plath, Brothers Grimm and Victoria’s Secret.
    Will take some time to get these images out of my head!

  2. April 10, 2010 1:55 pm

    What a mixture of storytelling here! Excellent Carolee!
    Pamela

  3. April 10, 2010 2:00 pm

    Oh my, there’s a lot going on here! Keeper for sure – I’m going to have to read this many more times. Fantastic juxapositions.

  4. April 10, 2010 5:06 pm

    I enjoy how each part transforms into the next.

    Haters will hate. Ignore ’em. And Cinderella with a pony gives me an (un?)fortunate idea for later tonight. hmm.

  5. April 10, 2010 6:26 pm

    SLAM-DUNK!! =)

  6. April 10, 2010 6:54 pm

    Love it, Carolee.

    I just wrote a poem for one of my best friends, after he called me one day to say, “Where the hell is MY poem?” I think he was kidding, but sometimes you get what you didn’t wish for. I find it very liberating to write about the people you love and who inspire you, especially when they’re (a) still alive and (b) emotionally capable of appreciating your work.

    You and Jill are lucky to have found one another.

    Jason

  7. Irene permalink
    April 10, 2010 9:59 pm

    Grimm & twisty..daring write!

  8. April 10, 2010 10:14 pm

    Oh what a mix of celebration and horror! Great poem, Carolee.

  9. April 11, 2010 1:25 am

    You are more than dangerous! Heart of a volcano perhaps!

    No one line is really more, or less, yet, “There’s only one story that ends in true love. It leaves no scraps.” Or a Phoenix perhaps! Love like binary stars. Ripe.

  10. April 11, 2010 1:26 am

    PS. I think you just outdid Frankenstein!

  11. April 11, 2010 10:36 pm

    Oh my. Thank you for this! I don’t think anyone has written me a poem before. Well, a poem that says, for ME. And this poem rocks. So funny, I was telling Soph the story of Cinderella today and I felt compelled to clarify, as her eyes grew wide at the Happy Ever After, to tell her the truth about Ever After…but I didn’t.

  12. April 12, 2010 1:44 pm

    Incredibly opening! Made me gasp & hold my breath. (In that way I like.)

    What a retort to small-hearted people. 🙂 Yay!

Comments are closed.

