Skip to content

napowrimo #12

April 12, 2010

My NaPoWriMo #12 is for the Poetic Asides prompt today: Write a poem about a city (and use the city name as the title).

I am writing a poem to Portland, Oregon, a city I have started to banish myself to a couple times a year, a city that is coming to mean to me all sorts of things for which I have no words. Some of it has to do with being a wandering poet, free from the other pieces of my identity, which I leave back on the East Coast. It’s wonderful to escape, and as a writer, I seek metaphors for it. This is going to be one attempt. I’ll try a bunch on, and see if any of them work. There’s a larger project I’m thinking about, and it needs just the right metaphors. Hopefully, they’ll come with time. And practice.

(My own prompt is up today at Read Write Poem, and I hope to write to that one later on.)

..DRAFT /

REMOVED BY THE AUTHOR FOR REVISION.

///

In addition to wanting to write about Portland, I have been wanting to write about the tattoo I got in early December. It is a dragon (my own artwork) playing at unfurling her wings. I’m wondering if that intention influenced this, as well. When I wrote, I started a third stanza, but couldn’t make it work, decided it *could* end where it does now. And maybe the stanza look like scraggly wings. Maybe.

Tally: 14 = 6.5 RWP + 6.5 PAD + 1 Book of Kells. (Target is now 32.)

8 Comments
  1. April 12, 2010 1:32 pm

    I’ve slipped out of the house to the library, where I can visit my pals, read their wordsl.

    I love this poem so much! And for many reasons. The metaphor is gorgeous — and those flightless wings are full of movement & light. Beautiful.

  2. April 12, 2010 2:24 pm

    Great poem.

  3. April 12, 2010 2:44 pm

    (o)

  4. April 12, 2010 3:12 pm

    I love the fragility and vulnerability of your work. And the way it invites the reader to recognise an inner world where nothing is certain…and nothing impossible. You have a fan! =)

  5. April 12, 2010 5:06 pm

    Carolee,
    Being so fragile and not being able to fly with your wings. Well penned. And thanks for the prompt!
    Pamela

  6. April 12, 2010 5:44 pm

    Carolee –
    this would be an outstanding poem if I knew nothing about Portland. But I do, so it’s even better. Shhhhhh! It’s as kuhl as you imagine.
    JDM

  7. April 12, 2010 7:19 pm

    I love this poem – especially as someone who lives in and loves Portland. There is something here that enables us to change identities and become someone other than we thought we could be.

  8. Irene permalink
    April 12, 2010 9:36 pm

    I love your bat-winged poem!

Comments are closed.

