Skip to content

napowrimo #14

April 14, 2010

I am out of my routine today (yes, I developed one already) in which I write before I do anything else during NaPoWriMo. Well, I eat and I secure a supply of caffeine first, but writing is the top item on the list each day (it really should be every day).

Out of nowhere today I had a conversation with myself in which I said, “It’s OK if you don’t write something today. Just start again tomorrow.” And I believed myself for a minute. And then I came to my senses. But neither of today’s prompts at Read Write Poem or Poetic Asides seemed to want anything to do with me.

I remembered I hadn’t written yet to my own prompt at RWP (secret codes), and I remembered I could always use my phone-a-friend prompts at Kelli’s blog. So I decided to combine secret codes (via some images I’ve collected over the last year and failed to decipher) with Kelli’s prompt #29 (I use them in reverse order), which is to “write a poem with a question as the title, but do not answer the question in the poem.”

..DRAFT /

REMOVED BY THE AUTHOR FOR REVISION.

///

Tally: 16 = 7.0 RWP + 7.5 PAD + 1.5 Book of Kells. (Target is now 32.)

6 Comments
  1. April 14, 2010 8:24 pm

    Oh my. From title to vividly descriptive single clauses such as “grief has a gestation period…” this feels like your best yet. Thank you for sharing!
    JDM

  2. April 14, 2010 8:36 pm

    the best yet? hmmm, JD. it’s the one i’m least sure about. was nervous today pressing “publish” on the blog post. thank you for reading!!!

  3. April 14, 2010 10:41 pm

    I love this–really stirring images and the emotion is almost palpable. Great way to use your own prompt! Glad you pressed “publish”(:

  4. April 14, 2010 10:42 pm

    Someday I hope to let go enough to follow images like these. A wonderful spin around people, places, things, and times.

  5. April 15, 2010 4:51 am

    There are lots of lovely resonances here, like the one-legged bird following on from the person standing lopsided

  6. April 15, 2010 11:55 pm

    I’m glad you pressed publish.

    I liked the one-legged bird, too — set me in another place, launched the poem from one place (a wonderful place) to another.

Comments are closed.

