Skip to content

napowrimo #15

April 15, 2010

Holy crap! I’m home for the first time today. It’s getting late and I haven’t written a poem yet. Must. Get. Busy!!! I am using the Poetic Asides prompt today: Write a deadline poem.

Oh, boy. I decided to attempt a countdown. Sections numbered in reverse. The number of words in each section corresponds with the section number. This didn’t turn out as I would have liked. It doesn’t feel like it has any juice in it. But it’s getting late. I can come back to the concept.

..DRAFT /

REMOVED BY THE AUTHOR FOR REVISION.

///

Tally: 17 = 7.0 RWP + 8.5 PAD + 1.5 Book of Kells. (Target is now 32.)

5 Comments
  1. April 15, 2010 9:46 pm

    I quite like the idea! It’s like some of the oulipo “melting snowball” poems that are out there… nice choice of images here.

  2. April 15, 2010 10:11 pm

    “My heart driving with the top down.” Juicy!

  3. April 15, 2010 11:01 pm

    I am in awe of this poem. I especially adore this:

    9.
    Daffodils. Forsythia. Apple blossoms. Birds
    weave twigs into nests.

    I think I might even attempt at “countdown” poem myself at some point… maybe when this whole NaPoWriMo chaos is over.

  4. April 15, 2010 11:57 pm

    Clever woman!! (I may have to borrow this form. K?)

  5. April 16, 2010 1:56 am

    I think it’s a great idea, and quite nice as it is, though having read some of your other poems, I’m sure with a little revision you can make it even more juicy 🙂

Comments are closed.

