Skip to content

napowrimo #26 (the prelude)

April 26, 2010

NaPoWriMo Travel Log Day 26:

I have no idea where my next poem is coming from. We have eaten every coconut on the island and the hen that we counted on for eggs has run away. I fear we are doomed.

Yes. Conditions are dire. I’m the first one to say, “Just free write to the prompt, you ninny. Something will come. This is what you’ve trained for.” But man! I’m draggin’!

So, I am turning to my phone-a-friend prompts at Kelli’s blog. I’m on her prompt #25: “Find some crayons, colored markers, or colored pens/pencils and draw a picture of something, anything. Now write a poem about what you drew.” In my expressive arts training, I have written to spontaneous visual art before, so I know it can work. It seems like a lot of effort today, but with no coconuts and no chicken to lay eggs, what choice do I have?

2 Comments
  1. April 26, 2010 2:34 pm

    I love the way you put it “no coconuts and the hen that we counted on for eggs has run away”. When I saw Jill’s prompt, I thought there was nothing usable left in my notebooks, but I sat down and went through several, and I seem to have come up with something which I shall post tonight. I can’t help feeling though that by then I will have cooked the hen that lay the eggs, so I’ll need some really inspiring prompts for the last three days.

Trackbacks

  1. napowrimo #26 (the poem) « carolee sherwood

Comments are closed.

