Skip to content

napowrimo #30

April 30, 2010

NaPoWriMo Day #30. So this is it. Soon, I will write a post that reflects upon the month. (I bet you can hardly wait.) Or maybe I won’t. I probably don’t have anything to say that someone else hasn’t already said. But I don’t have time for reflection or sentimentality at the moment. I have — boo! hiss! — a bunch of non-poetry-related things to do today. Imagine! So straight to the writing …

The Poetic Asides prompt for today is write a letting go poem. (I was thinking the poem I wrote Wednesday is a letting go poem, but I know I need a new one.) This one is not “the bang” I’d hoped for as an ending for the month, but it’s about crossing the finish line right now (and getting to those other tasks: boo!). NaPoWriMo’s been good to me, so it’s OK.

..DRAFT /

REMOVED BY THE AUTHOR FOR REVISION.

///

I’d hoped to be skilled enough so that a knowledge of the movie wasn’t necessary to the poem. Bah! Another time!

Tally: 33.0 = 9.5 RWP + 19.5 PAD + 4.0 Book of Kells. (Target is 33.) Goal achieved! Yahoo!

16 Comments
  1. April 30, 2010 11:57 am

    I had forgotten the ins-and-outs of that movie.

    That line he says… about letting go. Interesting his arrogance and less than a week later, he couldn’t.

    (But the cynic in me bets it didn’t/wouldn’t/couldn’t last in non-fiction)

    Enjoyed your work and your words, as always.

  2. April 30, 2010 12:31 pm

    I had forgotten her name was Vivian — perhaps the most unlikely detail of all! But I love the lines you quoted. Congratulations, you did it! A pile 30 poems high of diamonds in the rough! Hooray for you!

  3. April 30, 2010 1:10 pm

    Congratulations on your “Jalopy, Dear” poem. It made me feel good inside when I read it. I’m impressed that you’re keeping up with napowrimo with all your other activities. You have a lot of energy!

    This poem needs no movie knowledge to understand it, but I think everyone knows Pretty Woman. Your poem reveals the thrill of love unfolding, just as the movie portrays it.

  4. April 30, 2010 1:27 pm

    Never saw the movie, but regardless, the image and characterization you’ve created here is splendid. Like!

  5. April 30, 2010 1:40 pm

    mwah-ha-haaaaa! sounds like you guys have drunk the carolee kool-aid and i have you under my spell. 🙂

    when we all wake up in the morning, we’ll see …

    🙂

    and thank you, thank you. you’re all wonderful.

  6. April 30, 2010 3:00 pm

    Hi Carolee,

    Can’t believe Joseph hasn’t seen this; it’s required viewing! Your poem does it great justice and not knowing the film isn’t a problem. I have enjoyed my visits.

    • April 30, 2010 3:01 pm

      keep visiting, derrick! there’s more poeming even when april is done!

  7. April 30, 2010 4:10 pm

    looking forward
    see you for the gongs

  8. April 30, 2010 6:56 pm

    I haven’t seen the movie, I don’t go to movies much – but I did understand the poem. You’ve ended the month with a fantastic collection, I’ve enjoyed reading them all.

  9. April 30, 2010 10:03 pm

    Yessss! someone else who likes to dissect a film and not feel bad about it afterwards! Liked this film a lot, but liked your poem even more. Shift to serious tone. Your poems have inspired me and motivated me. I look forward to seeing your name connected to more published poetry and an award or two down the road. Thank you for sharing with us.
    best…
    JDM

  10. April 30, 2010 10:54 pm

    Congratulations for 30! For knowing you have a lot of keepers. I could go on and on, but I still have a poem to write!

    xxoo

  11. April 30, 2010 11:05 pm

    a nice kind of letting go =)

  12. April 30, 2010 11:52 pm

    I have never drank cool aid…just Kewl ade…anyways thanks for sharing all your words..and comments…hope to see you on the other side…cheers

  13. Irene permalink
    May 1, 2010 7:51 pm

    I like the pretty pretty ending.

  14. Irene permalink
    May 1, 2010 7:54 pm

    Oops wanted to add, Monday, poetry recovery promised. Expectant. Carolee thanks so much for anchoring this NaPoWriMo month at RWP. It has been absolutely memorable.

Comments are closed.

