Skip to content

crow and carcass (notes)

May 8, 2010

On the way to meet Jill for lunch this week, I passed a crow pecking a deer carcass. Crows and road kill are plentiful in out here in the country in Upstate New York. I see it all the time, but today, the muse gave me the plot that is central to a new poem, and it gave me a title.

When I arrived at the restaurant ahead of Jill, I scratched out some lines in my journal. Later, I typed them and played with them, and they are now part of my newest draft, which is here below this post. Leave a comment in this post if you need the password!

I am not sure it’s clear what I’m conveying, and I’m not sure the ending is as strong as it needs to be (it’s the second one I’ve tried). Tasks for revision one of these days!

6 Comments
  1. May 8, 2010 10:28 am

    Thank you for you comment, and thank you for the prompt that inspired my poem. Although I am not sure I precisely followed the prompt.

    I would love to see your own poem on it – if you email me the password, I promise I won’t post it anywhere (:p)

  2. May 8, 2010 10:31 am

    hi, lawrence! i emailed you the password. my circus poem isn’t this one (crow and carcass) but the one below it (big tent poetry persona poem). of course, you’re welcome to read both!

  3. Victoria permalink
    May 8, 2010 12:40 pm

    Carolee, I just found your blog through Big Tent poetry, and also because you found and commented on my new poetry blog. I would love your password so I could read more of your work. I’m impressed at your welcoming of poets.

    • May 8, 2010 2:55 pm

      victoria — thanks for asking. i sent it along to you via email. and i’m so glad you’re pleased with the personal welcomes. 🙂

  4. May 8, 2010 7:04 pm

    Carolee, I think I may have had your password at some stage, but I have no idea what it is now, would love to have it again.

  5. May 10, 2010 6:28 am

    Hey
    I was regularly following your poems during this poetry month and I wrote thirty poems too, though I didn’t register my name anywhere..cause I didnt know that I woud be able to produce 30 poems in a month. well I kinda became ur fan, I loved your poems and would liek to continue readingthem, but what is this password? I dont understand….would appreciate if you could guide me on this…
    thank you
    Pushpee

Comments are closed.

