Skip to content

fairy tale jumble (notes)

May 11, 2010

I had a writing date with Jill this morning, and guess what? We actually wrote! As usual, when we write, Jill’s poems fall out of her onto her journal pages nearly complete and gorgeous, and mine, well, mine emerge as ugly ducklings. They waddle around, bump into things, fall over, squawk, flop and splash. It takes me a while to get them to do what I want them to do.

The one I started today at the coffee shop with her (posted below) is still in rough shape. It is inspired by a re-imagining of fairy tales, but I didn’t want to stick with just one. I wanted to see if we are familiar enough with the double meanings in those fantasies that they could work together.

I have followed this one in seven or eight directions this afternoon, and it’s time to walk away. It almost says something. Mostly, it’s a mess. Let me know if you need the password!

Comments are closed.

