Skip to content

big tent poetry: sounds of words (notes)

May 16, 2010

For this week’s Big Tent Poetry prompt on listening, I followed Deb‘s link to Philosophy Talk. I really tried to make myself listen to something out of my realm of usual interest, but two show titles grabbed me right away: What is a wife? and What are words worth?

One interesting note: both shows mentioned poetry! The wife show talked about marriage as oppression even when it’s dressed up with poetry and roses, and the word show talked about preservation of local language as the importance of people not giving up the language in which they write poetry and love songs.

I took notes as I listened, and the phrases and words that tempted me (confession: I did this intellectually instead of aurally) are included with the poem which you’ll find here in the post below this one. Leave a comment here if you need the password!

Be sure to go visit all the other circus-goers’ poems. I’m late for Come one, come all — thank goodness it lasts all weekend! I’ve been reading, but I haven’t been writing.

3 Comments
  1. May 18, 2010 6:46 am

    The alliteration is interesting too!

  2. May 20, 2010 7:36 am

    I’ve forgotten the password, and I REALLY want to read your poem!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention big tent poetry: sounds of words (notes) « carolee sherwood -- Topsy.com

Comments are closed.

