Skip to content

correspondence with a poet friend

June 12, 2010

Go here to see Beth’s letter to me. Here is my response:

Beth,

That day in New York, we walked between
naked men, I was right behind you.
It took some courage to follow —
not into them but out of them. I wanted to stay.
Lighting made their skin look like velvet.
I imagined kneeling, pressing my cheek against
their stomachs. It has been a long time since
I have had hair long enough to brush.
I might have turned out pretty, respectable if I’d kept it.
Still, I don’t believe art must be beautiful. It must arouse
something in me. Fear is most important.
I am afraid if I walk away I will never see beauty
again. I am afraid if I look
the sight will haunt me. In my sleep
a skeleton lies on top of me, too. His bones are
my bones. We are all mixed up. The dead puzzle
over nothing. My desire to make everything fit
means I have time for little else. June is
proving to be a month of rain, just like last year.
The field behind the house calls me
to lift my skirt and run. The lashing of tall grasses
delights me so much I may never stop. I may never stop
crying. I trust that you will understand.

~Carolee

9 Comments
  1. June 12, 2010 10:17 pm

    Oh my gosh, yes. I’m almost tempted to write back to you tonight but need some time for things to brew. But soon.

  2. June 12, 2010 11:30 pm

    This is shaping up to be great correspondence!

  3. June 13, 2010 9:23 pm

    Hey! Here’s my response: http://www.poetryetcetc.com/?p=384

  4. June 13, 2010 11:10 pm

    It’s a mesmerizing conversation. So glad you are letting others read it. So glad.

    I love the combination of fear, pain, lashing unlashing.

Trackbacks

  1. Poetry and Other Bad Habits » Blog Archive » Letter-poem to a friend, part two
  2. correspondence with a poet friend #2 « carolee sherwood
  3. Poetry and Other Bad Habits » Blog Archive » Letter-poem to a friend III
  4. correspondence with a poet friend, #3 « carolee sherwood

Comments are closed.

