Skip to content

travel poem (notes)

June 29, 2010
tags:

Please excuse anything wonky in this post. It is my first from my iPad. And the poem I am introducing was also edited via iPad and I am not very adept with it yet.

The poem in the post below is my attempt to do an “I love a city” poem, a travel poem, without using all the regular features usually attributed to the city in the exact way they’re usually attributed.

I’ve been working on it for a couple of days and I’m not sure how successful it is either as a poem or as a piece that avoids the “usual.” But I have great affection for it. As I often do, I wonder about the overkill of extended metaphor, but I am going to allow it. And it’s sweetness. I am going to allow that, too.

Leave a note here if you need the password.

4 Comments
  1. June 29, 2010 12:01 pm

    Hi Carolee…I[‘d like the password. Could you send it to me please?

    -Nicole

  2. June 29, 2010 12:38 pm

    Gee, maybe you should sent it to the Oregonian — they probably print poems, being more hip there than we are here, so they say.
    DWx

  3. June 30, 2010 1:19 pm

    What makes poetry so wonderful is the fact that it involves all of life, every concern, every desire, and every feeling. If something has some great significance to a person’s existence, then it has a great significance in poetry as well.

Comments are closed.

