Skip to content

phillips road, part 8 (the final for the month of June)

June 30, 2010
tags:

At least for June, the Phillips Road series comes to an end (Here’s where it started, though, since they’re all included here, you don’t really need to look back unless you’re interested in “how” it got started)!

The entries since June 21 are new. (I made a couple of minor edits to line breaks and capitalization on a couple of the previous dates; I’d been trying to capitalize the first word in each line, but in some of the stanzas, I realized I missed them. Any other edits to date are mentioned in the notes at the end.)

I’d appreciate your thoughts about how I may ultimately use these bits and pieces. I was wondering about making a chapbook called “June” (or maybe a phrase from one of the entries) and interspersing them with some relationship poems. I have a few of those.

REMOVED FOR EDITING/SUBMISSION.

11 Comments
  1. June 30, 2010 9:48 pm

    the cat is fine

    • June 30, 2010 10:11 pm

      thanks for saying so: i know how you hate cat poems.

  2. June 30, 2010 10:12 pm

    I like the shape of this. I think it would make a fine collection, and adding more would be just fine. I’m no good at titles, but I think something from one of the poems would fit nicely.

    • June 30, 2010 10:16 pm

      hi, deb!

      i’m terrible with titles, too. after i posted i looked at the lines and came up with “june: a veil some bride ripped off and sent ahead of her into the wind.” too long. 😦 but it would fit with relationship poems.

      damn tricky, this poetry business!

      and sadly, i’ll just think about it. won’t take it further. boo to the evil forces of inaction!

      • June 30, 2010 10:27 pm

        june (we’ve abandoned the body)

        though it sounds like a crime. 🙂

  3. July 1, 2010 1:48 am

    So many good lines and images within these glimpses of your days, Carolee. June 27th is particularly lovely. 23rd, 20th & 19th are also great insights.

  4. July 1, 2010 12:47 pm

    Oh. Well, you know what a lousy editor I am. I just gasp and make admiring noises. Not much use otherwise.

  5. July 1, 2010 8:21 pm

    I don’t think “june: a veil some bride ripped off and sent ahead of her into the wind” is too long. It’s fitting. And, I’d be interested to know how you plan on ordering these snippets. When I read it from top to bottom, it flows, but I know that’s the reverse of the order you actually wrote them.

  6. July 1, 2010 9:25 pm

    Carolee I had seen you build this up through June. It’s done and so wonderful- all of them. But my fav is the one about forty butterflies.

  7. July 2, 2010 10:03 am

    These will make a great little chapbook. I love time-defined (is there a better word for that?) collections. You manage to say something new about the moon, which is an achievement in any age. There is a relaxed feel to these poems that lets the humor and the wisdom illuminate each other, if that makes any sense.

  8. July 2, 2010 10:04 am

    (“Little chapbook” is redundant as hell, Dave.)

Comments are closed.

