Skip to content

conversation poem for big tent poetry

July 2, 2010

This week at Big Tent Poetry, we’re writing conversation poems. Previously, I had written only one of these, and on that occasion, I didn’t set out to do it. It’s what the poem asked me to do. So I found myself avoiding this prompt all week.

But it’s now or never! (Well, not really, but that’s what prompts and deadlines are sort of about, that forced opportunity.) Be sure to visit the other circus-goers and their poems: links are here!

REMOVED FOR EDITING/SUBMISSION.

///

Now that it’s done, I can say it was kind of fun to try to capture a conversation in a poem!

21 Comments
  1. July 2, 2010 9:46 am

    Brought back horrifying memories of my previous marriage. You captured that feeling of so much more than what is being said in that conversation, the subtexts and things left unsaid. At least, that is what I got out of it, and that has to be based on my experience.

    I like what you did with this prompt.

  2. July 2, 2010 9:58 am

    This poem is very creative. Great job.

    Moty

  3. July 2, 2010 10:04 am

    I do love your conversation poem. It was fun and real. How many times I have been in such a similar situation. I’m surprised the car was not turned around just to double check…or better yet a friend with a key was called to check. Great work, thank you for sharing.

  4. July 2, 2010 11:05 am

    Just another of life’s daily foibles, or your partners! I’m sure scenes such as this are repeated worldwide!

  5. July 2, 2010 12:17 pm

    Laughing. How well I recognize this type of conversation – the real conversation lies hidden under the oven switch. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. July 2, 2010 12:47 pm

    but did you really?

  7. July 2, 2010 1:52 pm

    Carolee this sounds like conversations I had with my ex over and over.
    Nice one for the prompt.
    Pamela

  8. July 2, 2010 1:54 pm

    Terrific. If it had been me asking, I might have been certain, but more likely, wrong!

  9. July 2, 2010 2:46 pm

    Three fights, three affirmations for the same question. It’s a tricky number.

  10. July 2, 2010 3:13 pm

    OH, I can feel the frustration, especially as you are leaving town for restfulness and this question pops up and kablam. YES!

    ^giggles^

    My Big Tent Conversation Poem.

  11. July 2, 2010 4:22 pm

    Used to be my ex, then my roommate, now my daughter. I used to think that I was suffering fugue states and missing out on a whole lot of my life. Thank you for the laughter and the memories. It’s good to know I didn’t miss a thing, not even the frustration of these kinds of conversations. Love it!

    Elizabeth

  12. July 2, 2010 4:28 pm

    Carolee, I hear you on this one. Well written, down-to-earth poem. Mostly I worry about whether I turned off the coffee pot or whether I locked a door. I generally always have, but there might be that one time I didn’t….

    http://inthecornerofmyeye.blogspot.com/2010/07/true-tale.html

  13. July 3, 2010 10:03 am

    Carolee, Tension winds its way around and down through this piece beautifully. I love that she made him wait for his third “no.” This is very well written.

    Makes me wonder if she rushed into the house before him when they got home later to check!

  14. July 3, 2010 10:26 am

    Reading this I felt a familiar frustration…have you been eavesdropping?
    (Very nice!)

  15. July 3, 2010 11:30 am

    Don’t laugh but because we travel so much and this has happened in our outfit so many times resulting in volcanic eruptions that we now both check everything together so that if anything is amiss one can’t blame the other.Loved your poem and am reassured that it is not just us.

  16. July 3, 2010 2:43 pm

    deja vu…lovely

  17. July 4, 2010 2:39 pm

    “Now that itโ€™s done, …” Yes, yes. Sometimes the harder ones bring something unusual out. Glad you had fun, too, even if “kind of.” ๐Ÿ™‚

    How the beginning unfolds is perfect, starting with distance from home (what a *great time* to ask such a question) and third argument in is good, too (not *good* — but you know what I mean) , super to show what the question really hints at.

    I’d love to read more of these.

  18. July 4, 2010 8:40 pm

    The frustration in the (non)communicating going on in this poem is palpable. This is truth, perfectly rendered.

  19. July 5, 2010 8:42 am

    I do this to myself all the time. The oven, the doors locked, etc.

    The poem came out really well. I love that long space toward the end. Room for so much left unsaid, but it’s there.

  20. July 5, 2010 10:26 am

    And everything!

  21. tillybud permalink
    July 7, 2010 5:43 am

    How well you capture the human condition!

    http://thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com

Comments are closed.

