Skip to content

more letter(poem)s

August 28, 2010

Ages ago I received a letter from Jill in the form of a poem she posted on her blog. How lucky am I to have two poet friends writing with me this way (my latest correspondence with Beth is in the post below this one)?! So lucky!

Dear Jill:

Would you believe I have been in bed all week?
My back is in spasm, and it is difficult
to do much of anything. Before I was injured,
I found your letter in a stack of books
and wished I’d paid attention to the place
it marked. Maybe it meant something.
I should have written back sooner.

How wonderful that you have been able
to spend time at the lake pondering
your thirties! I am sorry about the crows,
but don’t take it personally. They insist
on mocking everyone. What a shame
someone has burdened you with the notion
that you must know your purpose!

What’s wrong with being simple as the grass?
I envy its persistence. The shortest distance
between daylight and darkness is
a straight green line. Its certainty holds
earth in place. I can think of no better way
to spend your thirties.

One Comment
  1. September 1, 2010 7:32 am

    The shortest distance
    between daylight and darkness is
    a straight green line.

    Love it. Love the earth being held together by grass. So true. So simple.

Comments are closed.

