Skip to content

october’s big tent poetry wordle

October 16, 2010

OK. So it could be that I am also writing for the 7-day poetry gong at Big Tent Poetry. Or it could be that I am coming down with another cold (which is karmic punishment because recently I was grumbling about other people always being sick). Or it could be that I am hormonal. But, whatever the reason, the wordle this month kicked my butt. The twelve words were purple, kiss, gourd, hook, drooping, staircase, muddy, bitter, doll, glossy, extract and pluck.

Anyway, here’s my attempt. Make sure to check out what dozens of others have written with these same words. Their posts are already up. Mine is a little late to the party!

I had to accomplish this one by writing a sentence or two containing each word. I noticed a menacing quality to them and tried to arrange them so a narrative emerges ever so slightly. Of course, if I revise this piece, I’ll take out the things that aren’t a part of that narrative, but for now they stay so I can say I used all the words!!

POEM REMOVED FOR EDITING.

5 Comments
  1. October 16, 2010 10:49 pm

    Menacing. It. Is. ‘I am never bitter about saying goodbye’ is one of my favorite lines (although not the only one!). Overall, the piece feels like a fever. 🙂 Lovely.

  2. October 17, 2010 2:44 am

    This works extraordinarily well in its own right – the more so considering that it is, to a significant extent, surgically constructed. Full of menace and the certainty of purpose of the true sociopath. I think you should have signed it Lady Macbeth!

  3. October 17, 2010 4:22 am

    I notice four rhymey words in the first stanza and am glad to see them! This is one brazen and dangerous lady!

  4. October 17, 2010 1:20 pm

    Precaution is nice, but this was something else.. the way you began and the way you ended this.. WOW.. Derrick is right.. this is one brazen, dangerous lady! 🙂

    My Wordle attempt is Here

  5. October 19, 2010 3:13 am

    Better late than never – mine was a bit last minute as well.
    Good use of the wordle words, but I’m glad I’m not married to your protagonist!

Comments are closed.

