Skip to content

november poem-a-day, day 1

November 1, 2010

As you can see by looking at my blog (my most recent post before this is October 18), I have been missing for two weeks. It seems the only time I blog these days is if I am part of some wild and crazy challenge. And so here I am to announce that I am attempting another wild and crazy challenge.

I am traveling to Oregon this month (leaving on Thursday), so it’s going to be extra wild and crazy. Apparently, it’s what motivates me. Who am I to argue with the muse? The muse is The Boss.

This one is the Poetic Asides Poem-A-Day (PAD) Challenge. Every day in November write a poem. During December, assemble them into a chapbook. Wild and crazy, yes? Yes!

This fall I have succumbed many times to naming poems by date or occasion (“The last weekend of September” or “Wednesday night poetry reading”); I don’t know if those titles will stick, but they are holding their places. To make things easier for November, unless a title is screaming at me to be heard, I am going to name my poems by the date they are written: November 1, November 2, etc.

The prompt for today is to write a “closing the door” or “turning the page” poem. Here goes!

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

12 Comments
  1. November 1, 2010 3:25 pm

    You’re incredibly productive with these so-called crazy ideas. Best of luck!!

    I love the tone of this, the repeated last phrase.

    • November 2, 2010 8:02 pm

      thank, deb. i like the tone in this, too, and i wish i could put my finger on it more so that i could play around with it again in another piece.

    • November 2, 2010 8:03 pm

      very exciting that you’re giving it a try, too! yay!

  2. November 1, 2010 6:46 pm

    the sound-track of my life

  3. November 1, 2010 7:43 pm

    I’m doing PAD too. Nice to see you there. You definitely have captured so well the idea of someone missing & a page turned in a life!

    • November 2, 2010 8:04 pm

      thanks, mary! are you posting your poems on blog or at PAD? i’ll try to find out …

  4. November 1, 2010 9:37 pm

    Wow! If this is day one, I can’t wait to see the next 29 poems.

    • November 2, 2010 8:04 pm

      oh, dear. the quality of them is so sporadic, that’s a lot of pressure! 🙂 i haven’t managed to read others yet, but yours (and some others) are top on my list. excited to be on this november journey with you.

  5. November 2, 2010 6:48 pm

    Go, Carolee!

Comments are closed.

