Skip to content

november poem-a-day, day 4

November 4, 2010

I don’t think I have ever admitted to feeling jet lag, but I am going to claim to have it now. I got up this morning in Albany at 4 a.m. (yes, that’s in the morning), and it is the equivalent of 1 a.m. in the time zone I am in now. I am in Portland, Oregon, and although I had a really great day as far as travel goes, I am beat.

I read a lot on the planes (I had a brief layover in Minneapolis), and I made a lot of notes about flight and mountains. I couldn’t fit any of it into a poem about “containment,” which is the prompt for the Poetic Asides Poem-A-Day challenge.

Today is only day 4, and it would be terrible to balk this early. So here is a poem that attempts to use the containment as a political term and winds up — of course! Argh! — as a relationship metaphor.

It is offered in the true spirit of poem-a-day: draft, draft, draft.

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

Posts for the next few days may struggle with typos and formatting issues. This is the first trip that I have voluntarily substituted the iPad for the laptop (in July when I traveled I was without laptop, but only because my back was hurt, and I couldn’t physically bear its weight). I have Word on it now, and there is really no reason to carry both. I am just not used to how it substitutes words for me when I type.

4 Comments
  1. November 4, 2010 9:19 pm

    This is a strong draft, Carolee. The ending has the wonderful imperative curtness of interrogation it needs to make the last line work. Way to go…

    and I’d love to hear more about how you like the iPad for word processing. I have resisted because my laptop is mostly a place to write, and I wonder if the iPad will just seem like a giant iPod. 🙂

  2. November 4, 2010 9:32 pm

    I love the iPad. NOT just a fat iPod. So many choices for typing docs, though Word doesn’t have as many functions here, it is more than sufficient and can share docs with laptop. PLUS i can doodle on it, surf the web and play games and read e-books. The only thing i don’t like is that it doesn’t handle flash on websites. But i suspect new models will.

  3. November 4, 2010 9:50 pm

    Carolee, saw you in Awakenings; I was in same issue. This is a great poem – first draft or no. We will all be editing before submitting for the chapbook challenge. I have diarrhea of the keyboard at this point, and this prompt took me from the BSU to the kitty shelter, from my mom’s house (leaving my first husband AGAIN for a few days) to, of all things, condoms. Talk about containment, LOL.

    “Desire is heresy unless you put it in the proper receptacle,” great line. Also the witch trials, the Communist thing – I’m all about the politics, baby! So what if it ends up a relationship poem? Aren’t all relationships political? Anyway, that’s my two cents.

    Good work. And your avatar pic rocks! Amy Barlow Liberatore

    • November 4, 2010 9:54 pm

      Hi, Amy! Good to see you. Jumping over to read!

Comments are closed.

