Skip to content

november poem-a-day, day 6

November 6, 2010

I am still chugging away at the Poetic Asides Poem-A-Day Challenge. The prompt for today is to write a poem with the title “looking for ____.”

Last night I met Deb in a part of Portland I hadn’t explored yet, and I loved the name of the place she chose. When I saw the prompt for today, I knew I wanted to write about looking for an actual place. I thought it might help me avoid pontificating too much about life or love. Fat chance, right? But I do think the name of the place deserves to be in a poem.

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

Poor Deb. She is going to read this and say, “That’s not how the evening went at all!”

Here is what I did (which is often what I do): I took some real bits of the evening and added some elements from my fantasy life.

There are only two things I will reveal: our waitress really was named (birth name!) Tiger, although she does not work at the Teardrop (she works at our second stop of the evening — we drank and chatted for 5 hours!) and, sorry to disappoint you, but Deb and I did not kiss.

4 Comments
  1. November 6, 2010 2:26 pm

    I love your use of anaphora here, which I think is rare in your poetry. I suggest you drop the last line, leaving “what I want to say” open. (such a hippy town where girls are named Tiger!)

  2. November 7, 2010 11:34 am

    Love the idea of finding this new real place of your poem, and your mix of actual and fantasy.

    I chuckled at the “Deb will” parts and the last line of your editorial comments. 🙂

    Five hours? I guess it was.

  3. November 7, 2010 11:55 am

    I love the detail in this and sense of loneliness amidst a crowd. Reminds me of the scene in “The Apartment” where Shirley McClain’s character meets her lover at the Chinese restaurant.

    BTW, I used your line “When there are flames in the forest” in my poem, and would love to read the poem it came from.

Trackbacks

  1. photos related to recent poems, portland, oregon « carolee sherwood

Comments are closed.

