Skip to content

november poem-a-day, day 10

November 10, 2010

As my wonderful pal Jill would say: “Holy Schmoly, woman!” It is day 10! We are one-third of the way through the November PAD Chapbook Challenge at Poetic Asides.

Today’s prompt was to write a love poem. I know what you are thinking: God, no. Don’t encourage her. And so I wanted to surprise you with a love poem that would NOT be a relationship poem.

I attempted to write a love poem to my new purple coat. I knew I would write a poem about it the moment I tried it on, though this isn’t exactly how I imagined it would go. But it is poem-a-day: she goes how she goes.

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

3 Comments
  1. November 10, 2010 2:52 pm

    This was my favorite part —> “Raindrops are tender kisses on my eyelids,
    are champagne bubbles on my lips,
    are diamonds on the shoulders of my new purple coat,
    which will always remind me
    of the old photos at Jake’s of men smoking cigars,
    their arms around chums in bow ties and cummerbunds,”

  2. November 10, 2010 3:30 pm

    Failed? With a line like of seeing for myself low clouds crowding houses on the hills? I don’t think so.

    I love this poem.

  3. November 10, 2010 4:09 pm

    Purple! Got to see this coat.

Comments are closed.

