Skip to content

november poem-a-day, day 11

November 11, 2010

I flew overnight from Oregon, and boy are my arms tired! And it’s affecting my poemer. But that’s OK. I have managed to piece something together for Day 11 in the November PAD Chapbook Challenge at Poetic Asides. It contains some scenes from my vacation, some weather and a few clichés about air travel snafus and break-ups.

The prompt was to write a poem with the title “no one wants ______.”

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

When I saw this prompt this afternoon, I listed some possible phrases to put in the blank. This title doesn’t quite hit it, but it’s a draft, dude. The poem misses its intended mark, too. It is trying to be something about complaining. And I guess it is something about complaining. But instead of it picking an angle, like “we need validation” or “oh, look at us disappointed,” it’s a mixed bag. Why am I telling you this? I need to get down my thoughts for revision before I fall asleep.

P.S. I am on my laptop again now that I am home. I blogged and did email the entire time I was gone with my iPad. And I can say I got faster and faster as the week went on. I can also say, having also taken no longhand notes on the trip, I can now see the iPad replacing both my laptop and my journal almost entirely. Maybe I’ll blog about that in detail someday. For now, I am counting the hours until I can climb into my bed and go to sleep.

2 Comments
  1. November 11, 2010 5:21 pm

    welcome home

  2. November 11, 2010 10:30 pm

    (<3)

Comments are closed.

