Skip to content

november poem-a-day, day 19

November 19, 2010

Day 19. I waited until the end of the day again. Bah. The prompt for today is to write a poem with a hole in it. I thought immediately of the cliché “dig a hole.” And then, as you may expect, my happy poetry brain, said, “Oh! Like a relationship!”

I know this is overboard, but I had a lot of fun finding clichés and idioms for this (try the randomizer here if you want to play around). I found many more than I used. I had to stop. I was developing an addiction. I know some of these are probably expected (and you should see the list of phrases I rejected!), but I hope I also chose some surprising ones.

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

5 Comments
  1. November 19, 2010 11:45 pm

    This is so fun, Carolee. Yes, the repetition is most effective. I’ve got to check out all those cliches.

    http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2010/11/18/big-tent-poetry-introspection/

  2. November 20, 2010 12:24 am

    Muy fun!

  3. November 20, 2010 10:06 am

    That is fun!

  4. November 20, 2010 1:16 pm

    Ahhh, I enjoyed the heck out of this…

    (and I am almost embarrassed to admit Blue Mountain Arts HAS used my work.. and one other greeting card company stole my work and used it…)

    So fun…..

  5. November 20, 2010 7:13 pm

    well done Carolee…thanks for sharing this

Comments are closed.

