Skip to content

diversionary tactics, poem-a-day interruption, part 2

November 24, 2010

So last night, I sat down determined to get back into poem-a-day after skipping two days. I joked to a friend, “Remember when I used to be a poet? Seems like just yesterday. Or was it Saturday?” I am much happier when I write every day.

Yesterday’s prompt (Day 23) was to write a poem in form. I chose a pantoum. I love pantoums. And I did write one. A really, really terrible one. Really-really. Terrible-terrible. But why didn’t I post it? Only days earlier, I had a discussion on Facebook about how I dared to post crappy poems. So what happened? I think I have been in editing/revision-mode for the last few days as I finished up my manuscript. I guess I just haven’t taken off that hat yet, haven’t let go of the critic just yet. Maybe today. Today would be a good day to send her away. Maybe she should go away until after the holidays. I may have no need for her then.

In the meantime, so as not to disappoint you, I can offer you some writing. My post about using open mics as a training ground for reading in front of an audience is up at Voice Alpha. I hope you’ll go read!

3 Comments
  1. November 24, 2010 10:26 am

    Oh please. I’m just trying to get to 20 poems. You’ll catch up, and I’m totally jealous.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • November 24, 2010 10:32 am

      i saw that goal on your blog, and it’s a great one! i agree with you — playing catch-up is silly. i’m just hoping to jump back in. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. November 25, 2010 10:43 am

    Good post on open mics!

    Feed the critic some turkey and pie, then send her away for a while. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.

