Skip to content

november poem-a-day, day 28

November 29, 2010

The prompt for day 28 (which was yesterday) was to write a “what really happened” poem. Here it is about 12 hours late.

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

I wrote this last night, but I couldn’t decide how I wanted to end it. There were a couple of options, including alternate endings about virtual travel being an anti-terrorism measure or a safety response to engine failures. I have been so tired lately, and even the simplest decisions make my head spin. So I decided I’d wait ’til this morning to figure it out.

Of course, it was an illusion that it mattered at all which ending I wrote yesterday. (Eesh, internal critic, I thought we agreed you’d busy yourself with Thanksgiving leftovers and allow me to write?) I think I was thrown off because this kind of social commentary isn’t my usual fare.

Nah, I am just thrown off period. I am having a succession of days (weeks?) in which I can see the world going on beside me and I’m not really in it. But it’s beside me. That’s the sensation. Most definitely beside me. (As I type that I wonder if maybe that’s what this piece could be about if I did it right? That would make me happier than social commentary.)

But anyway, yes, getting back to the poem. Ultimately, I chose my initial idea, the philosopher ending. All of them seemed to be a bit preachy, so why not go with the kind, old man instead of the mechanics and logistics of air travel in the ominous 21st century? That’s going to be my new motto, I think. Bumper sticker, anyone?

5 Comments
  1. November 29, 2010 1:03 pm

    A Carolee Sherwood poem with a preachy ending? I’m redeemed!

    • November 29, 2010 1:12 pm

      oh, crap. you’re right. my “advice to fellow poets greatest hits” album, track #1: “delete the preachy ending.” bah.

  2. November 29, 2010 1:11 pm

    Feeling like a spectator, eh (Oscar Wilde approves)? Probably the fatigue. But hang in there, and listen to yourself…it could indeed drive some new inspiration.

    I liked this little piece, the weird and freaky humor of “You’ve already seen Grandma.” Have you read George Saunders’s “In Persuasion Nation”? This reminded me a little of it.

    • November 29, 2010 1:14 pm

      thanks, hannah! and who could argue with “you’ve already seen grandma?” i tell you i could get a job as a customer service rep. 🙂

  3. November 29, 2010 1:43 pm

    … I’m kind of partial to “the kind, old man…”

Comments are closed.

