Skip to content

november poem-a-day, day 29

November 29, 2010

Today’s prompt is “write a next steps poem.” The next step after Thanksgiving is Christmas, and it’s giving me the blues. I am thinking about excusing myself from it entirely, but that’s the subject of another post. The post for now is, as requested, a next steps poem.

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

Yes, I know the last two lines of this “I don’t believe in redemption” poem are, indeed, explicitly about redemption. I am thinking about deleting the last stanza, which hints of redemption a few lines in. I decided against adding in a couple lines to the first stanza about the Grinch’s heart growing three sizes. We certainly do not lack in examples of Christmas miracles. If memory serves correct, there’s also one about a baby being born. No, that can’t be right. Anyway, I am more humbug than I’ve ever been. Did you know how cranky and old I am? Severely.

Dear Hallmark, You didn’t call after I wrote the Thanksgiving poem, but I bet you’ll make it a priority now that I’ve written a Christmas poem. Love, Carolee.

3 Comments
  1. November 29, 2010 6:07 pm

    I think “Prepare to see me jump”….(open card) “while the world hangs optimism on every bough” (inside of card) would make millions for Hallmark.

    🙂

  2. November 30, 2010 4:29 am

    I love Donna’s comment. Do you know the website despair.com? They sell “anti-motivational” products. My favourite is the poster of a big cat – cheetah I think – in a tree, with the slogan “it takes 79 muscles to frown, and only 33 to smile, but it takes none at all to sit there with a really dumb look on your face”. (I made up the numbers, but you get the idea)

  3. November 30, 2010 9:08 am

    ❤ this plenty. You pulled off redemption. I love those last four lines, in *this* poem.

Comments are closed.

