Skip to content

another “enough” poem for big tent poetry

December 4, 2010

Thank you, Deb, so very much for the “enough” prompt. It is sticking with me.

Some of this poem visited me in the night, but I didn’t realize it was an echo of the prompt until earlier today, I got this line: “None of us gets what we want.” It’s not so unique, but I like it combined with the idea of ghosts.

Holiday blues plus some annual hauntings equals a cheery poem. Uh, yeah right! The good news? It’s not a relationship poem! At least there’s that …

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

25 Comments
  1. December 4, 2010 8:39 pm

    So many emotions here. Fun and playful to scary and terror. I really like this poem.

  2. December 4, 2010 10:19 pm

    I think you’ve been raiding my dreams – especially the child under the ice 🙂

    • December 4, 2010 11:27 pm

      i thought that image was a gift from the poetry gods! did they steal it from you? 😉

  3. December 4, 2010 10:59 pm

    Striking and strange images, from popular culture, from the poet’s haunted imagination, that arrive in the reader’s lap like melted snow with the imprint of a face, or we are hearing her from under the ice. Or watching the poet looking at the child beneath the ice who has a warning for us as the bottom of the river grabs at shadows of fish.

    Beautiful surreal series of images that work like a haunted dream, of questioning, of a grief that spills over into the imagination of the waking day.

    Brilliant work, Carolee. (Forgive my take, it’s only an interpretation.:)

    • December 4, 2010 11:29 pm

      thank you for that word “grief.” i wasn’t sure what was wandering inside this, and i think that’s it. or one of the things anyway!

  4. December 5, 2010 12:05 am

    This is really good. Isn’t it funny how a common observation, heard as if for the first time, can sometimes spark the most original work?

  5. Victoria Hendricks permalink
    December 5, 2010 12:44 am

    I especially like the old gray cat waiting to be fed by ghosts and wonder what other children need to be warned of what – so yes, the poem works and does hsunth me.

    • December 5, 2010 11:20 am

      hi, victoria! thanks for reading.

      i don’t plan on telling the reader what the warning is. 🙂 i like it open-ended. any warning will do.

  6. December 5, 2010 7:51 am

    This left me chilled:

    In the middle of the night, a man enters my room.
    He is not Jesus.

    So simple yet so ominous.

  7. December 5, 2010 8:12 am

    I’m with Tilly Bud- that line captivated me. Beautifully written poem, Carolee!

  8. Irene permalink
    December 5, 2010 8:12 am

    This is so edgy. I like how it moves from quickly from Biblical to pop vestiges to ghosts to death beneath the ice. Makes you think hard, especially since I’ve just come back from the 2nd advent Sunday.

  9. December 5, 2010 9:21 am

    For years, until it was stolen, a local coffee house kept it’s Mother Theresa honey bun on display. Miraculously, it never grew moldy. Just saying.
    I do like this one. Like Stephen King’s good days, quirky and sad and gotcha, all at once. My favorites are the cat expecting the ghosts to feed her, and the river bottom fooled by spook fish.

    My husband just quoted someone at me: I don’t believe in ghosts, and they don’t scare me, either.

    • December 5, 2010 11:23 am

      ooh, a mother theresa honey bun! i bet there’s at least a chapbook worth of poems that could be inspired by these sorts of occurrences.

  10. December 5, 2010 9:47 am

    Very eerie. These lines in particular – “In the middle of the night, a man enters my room. / He is not Jesus.” are incredibly powerful.

  11. December 5, 2010 12:30 pm

    (So glad you kept going with enough!)

    What they said. PLUS the snow from the lake. I liked that real-weather, which adds reality to the spookiness. Because it is the real that is the scariest. And all of this is very much real.

    • December 5, 2010 5:30 pm

      glad the spookiness has a reality to it.

      hi! 🙂

  12. Lee Pursewarden permalink
    December 5, 2010 6:18 pm

    interesting that the men are Jesus, Johnnie Carson & Elvis, none of which are real anymore. But the old gray cat is what fascinates me the most, — perhaps it is the snow melting in your lap, or not.

  13. December 7, 2010 5:07 pm

    Strange and haunting images! I think the line “None of us gets what we want” fits in perfectly.

  14. December 8, 2010 7:12 pm

    Very nice. Especially: “The river bottom grabs at the shadows of fish.”

Comments are closed.

