Skip to content

if you poke your muse in the eye …

December 14, 2010

If you poke your muse in the eye, you’re bound to get a reaction. At first I was angry with this piece for having an inconsistent feeling (an ambivalence?) about the boudoir (is it a good thing or a bad thing?). But then I decided it’s possible the poet is confused, and so it came out in the poem. Therefore, the only response to this piece may be, “Huh?” And that’s ok.

There’ll be time another day for a more consistent narrator. Today, I am grateful the muse showed up at all. (And grateful to writing buddy Jill for a poetry pep talk which more than anything is the likely motivation for writing today.)

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

5 Comments
  1. December 14, 2010 6:53 pm

    I’m all for ambivalence about the boudoir! I am a little scared of the alligators, though. Goes back to childhood in Florida…. But, really, I am so glad to read this.

  2. December 15, 2010 1:14 pm

    holy cow. holy alligator. this is great. imagine if you hadn’t written at all yesterday. no great poem. just imagine…

  3. December 18, 2010 4:10 am

    If that’s what confusion brings, then confusion seems like a very good thing

  4. December 18, 2010 10:43 am

    Carolee I must say confusion works very well for you.
    Fantastic piece.
    Pamela

  5. December 18, 2010 2:49 pm

    In agreement. Love how the first stanzas words evolve, and in such contrast to the lusciousness of boudoir, which is a swell word, if misunderstood by many.

    The shape is interesting, too. And supports the incredible ideas.

    (And I swear I read this after I used “punch-line” in today’s BTP poem.)

Comments are closed.

