Skip to content

iPad doodle with figurative and literal stones

December 20, 2010

Christine posted today about getting started early with her small stones, which some of us are going to write every day beginning in January. She inspired me, and I decided I wanted to write some before January, too. Also, I keep bumping into words with sketches lately: someone’s dream journal at a new writing group, a friend going on a picture poem kick, Kenneth Patchen jumping out on book shelves everywhere, a Maira Kalman book following me home from the bookstore.

Who am I to avoid so much nudging? And so today, I doodled this (click to enlarge) and wrote a quick note on it, a little poem, a small stone. I would like to think that I would illustrate many of my small stones (or like this one, start with an illustration and let it write the words), but I know enough about poem-a-day challenges to not get crazy with expectation.

By the way, I miss summer very much. I wonder if I can be nice enough to encourage her to come back.

I have been sketching on my iPad off and on since I got it. The sketches haven’t made it out in the world yet, though Jason Crane will be unveiling at least one of them with a project he’s launching soon. Mostly, I have been doing the sketches for meditative purposes. Often it’s adding detail and tidying them up that is most meditative (though this is a fairly fast one, and I haven’t cleaned it up). It feels like freedom to have a artistic device that has an eraser and a delete key. I can make a line 100 times if I want to until I get it just right. I waste no paper. And I can take it anywhere. Part of this particular doodle was made by cheating — by tracing over the top of a photo and then zapping the photo out.

12 Comments
  1. December 20, 2010 3:52 pm

    Love it!

  2. December 20, 2010 4:30 pm

    Yes!!

  3. December 20, 2010 4:48 pm

    This is very cool.

  4. December 20, 2010 4:51 pm

    I hope many of your stones come illustrated!

    If it’s not terribly technical and doesn’t involve much of your time, how does the photo tracing bit work?

  5. December 20, 2010 5:04 pm

    That is very cool. What app did you use?

  6. December 20, 2010 7:02 pm

    Wow! I’m so happy to have had anything to do with your abundant creativity! Your drawings are wonderful. Weird, I started doing a doodle in my paper and pen journal to go along with my first “stone,” but it wasn’t worthy of scanning. I love what you can do with your iPad! It looks like a handmade drawing. I miss summer too. Your stack of stones is lovely.

  7. December 21, 2010 1:11 am

    Don’t worry about summer, we are looking after it for you and will send it back when we are done with it 🙂
    (We need some cheering up here, after our shaky year)

  8. December 21, 2010 8:27 am

    Now I want an iPad! Your picture/verse is great!

  9. Kathleen Kirk permalink
    December 21, 2010 8:27 am

    Wonderful!!

  10. December 21, 2010 10:00 am

    Lovely! Looking forward to a whole month of small stones.

  11. December 21, 2010 9:46 pm

    it could be winter, stacked snowballs from neutered Snowmen

Trackbacks

  1. iPad doodle: lavabelly eats stone heart « carolee sherwood

Comments are closed.

