Skip to content

a list poem for new years eve and big tent poetry

December 31, 2010

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

I am waiting for my son’s friend to arrive for a playdate, and so I asked the kids for a quiet hour for me to do some writing before we entertain. I sat down with this week’s prompt for Big Tent Poetry (my own). It’s not a snarky list, as the prompt suggests, but I hope the abundance is a decent enough irony to the seriousness of the final line. Go see what other list poems circus-goers wrote this week!

P.S. I got this out in about 10 minutes. Don’t tell the kids. I’m going to goof off for the rest of my hour.

21 Comments
  1. December 31, 2010 10:47 am

    I like the corn chex especially.
    Enjoyed this – I won’t tell the boys…

  2. December 31, 2010 10:57 am

    Goofing off is under-rated. I like the simplicity of the list. It earns the last line. Happy New Year!

  3. December 31, 2010 11:06 am

    That was really good! I love the contrast of the last line with the first. It flows very nicely, too. Nice observations. πŸ™‚

  4. December 31, 2010 12:20 pm

    I love the last line. I read it several times and it sits well with me. Have fun supervising the playdate/playing! πŸ™‚

    • December 31, 2010 2:28 pm

      oh, good, brenda — glad you think the last line can work!

      the playdate went well. i have good kids and they have good friends. and i’ve trained them mostly to be self-sufficient. πŸ™‚

  5. December 31, 2010 1:33 pm

    Carolee, I just love these images. They closely recreate what is happening to me right now except the dog is curled up asleep (at my side) and there are no kids to bother me (if you don’t count the husband.) Most enjoyable and I hope your hour was perfect.

    • December 31, 2010 2:29 pm

      i frequently have them practice leaving mommy alone. sometime they’ll get good at it! maybe?! i used much of my hour to read other big tent poetry poems — it was lovely!

  6. December 31, 2010 2:59 pm

    I love this, Carolee. It moves me. Because of the sweetness of all those small things that add up to abundance. And because of the truth of that last line. Happy New Year!

    • December 31, 2010 7:47 pm

      yes, sweetness is one filter (that was the theme of my morning, anyway). happy new year!

  7. December 31, 2010 5:53 pm

    I love how this poem gives a warmth and coziness throughout, then tosses the reader out into a harsher reality. Forces a thought process worth the following. But, would warn you, if they get too good at not disturbing Mom, it’s time to go check on what they’ve gotten into. Wishing you a warm and wonderful New Year, and thanks again for all these prompts,

    Elizabeth

    • December 31, 2010 7:48 pm

      yes, elizabeth, i am well-schooled in the “it’s way too quiet out there” problem. i have three boys. πŸ™‚

      it is our pleasure to provide the prompts. thanks for being part of the community!

  8. December 31, 2010 7:03 pm

    At times like these, it is easy to believe no one goes without. A very happy new year to you, Carolee! I was in a poetry writing slump until this prompt. πŸ™‚

    • December 31, 2010 7:48 pm

      you and me both! so glad the list poem rescued us! happy new year! it was a pleasure to meet you in 2010.

  9. December 31, 2010 7:39 pm

    Carolee the ending is very powerful. Thanks for big tent and I am wishing you a very happy New Year.
    Pamela

    • December 31, 2010 7:49 pm

      you’re welcome (from the big tent) and happy new year! thanks for your loyal participation!!!

  10. December 31, 2010 10:41 pm

    Such beautiful imagery here… I love it… especially the ending. Happy New Year!

  11. January 1, 2011 5:05 am

    Goofing off is a necessary component of a mother’s continuing sanity. I like your poem very much.

    Happy New Year!

  12. January 1, 2011 3:20 pm

    You paint such a lovely, still picture, and then the last line puts it all in perspective.

Comments are closed.

